Unbiased opinions on a system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2005, 08:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Default Unbiased opinions on a system

Hi Guys,

Can I have unbiased opinions on this system please. Basically asking myself these questions:
1) Will this be stable
2) Will this play the latest games on MAX settings

Aspire X-Navigator with supplied 500w PSU
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (754)
Gigabyte GA-k8N
OcUK Value 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200
GeForce FX5500 256mb DDR agp 8x
Seagate 7200rpm 40gb ide HD

I want this system to be part of a network of 10 PCs to be used in a 'gaming cafe'.

Any opinions/reccomendations will be appreciated


rushy is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 08:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
aspire's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308

no it wont. My graphics card is a 5600 ultra and it wont play all games at full settings. Also the psu that comes with the case may die on you and take the system with it.

If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.


The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 10:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Look for a much better video card, like a 6600GT
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 10:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re:


Graphics cards are so expensive!!! ...well for my budget anyways...

I struggle with my GeForce 5700LE 256MB AGP card...I have to play with settings on normal of low, in order to get some performance in 1024x768.

|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 01:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

You'll be lucky to play modern games at all, without lagg. My friend has that card, he's always running into problems.
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 05:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Chankama's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523

Not the greatest of setups. Hopefully u didn't pay a lot for that system.
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 05:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688

And socket 754 is a old 64bit socket....

But aint his video card better than mine? If so it could play halo and war 3 very well....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 08:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

Get a 6600GT, a 350w Antec with power converter (saves $$ on electricity)
I would get 1GB Corsair Value for $85
turtile is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 01:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

you need a 6600gt, without it, you can't run games without lag (modern ones)

I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 04:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7

Originally posted by Chankama
Not the greatest of setups. Hopefully u didn't pay a lot for that system.
That doesnt really help me build a better one, does it?

Thanks for all those that offered advice....From the input I gathered that i need to get:

6600 GT <------- there is a PCI-E and AGP version...is this important enough to base my system around an PCI-E ?
Corsair memory

Optional: Antec PSU

And now I guess the follow up is...will my mobo/cpu work stable with these new components in mind to look like:

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (754)
GByte GA-K8N
nVidia GF 6600 GT (AGP)
Corsair 1gb DDR

Thanks for the help, lads...

rushy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.