Ultra IDE cable makes different sound? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2008, 08:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Arrow Ultra IDE cable makes different sound?

I just bought this new 20 inch ULTRA IDE cable to replace my ugly grey cable. I noticed that when I start up my pc, it makes a different noise... is this normal with a new IDE cable? thanks in advanced!
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Ultra IDE cable makes different sound?

What noise?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Ultra IDE cable makes different sound?

hmm idk its hard to explain. Its just different than how it used to sound... is that normal? Kind of like if u were charging a laser or somthing in a video game.... idk.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Ultra IDE cable makes different sound?

LMAO. You tell me.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 09:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Ultra IDE cable makes different sound?

it sounds cooler lol, as long as my PC doesnt blow up, im happy. (the cables is also UV reactive, yay!) Im keepin it
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 10:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Ultra IDE cable makes different sound?

lol @laser....only thing i could think of was that maybe its rubbing a fan or something?
jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 01:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Ultra IDE cable makes different sound?

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 01:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Ultra IDE cable makes different sound?

Wow...this is a new one....
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 01:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Ultra IDE cable makes different sound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
its been 5 minutes im still lauphing
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 04:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Ultra IDE cable makes different sound?

MIGHT be that your ribbon was blocking airflow to one of your fans, causing it/them to work harder, and now it's clear, can get around the rounded IDE cable much easier. also, as stated, check to make sure the cable's not touching anything. if all else fails, see if the noise continues when you take off the side of the case. if it does, try to locate the sound with your ear... that is where your difference is cheers!
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
CD drive and hard drive on the same IDE cable? Disillusion New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-14-2007 10:46 AM
Hotrodding the X-Fi Apokalipse Overclocking and Modding 9 08-13-2007 11:39 AM
Did my sound card die on me?? :( Nuggets Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-13-2007 12:17 PM
Sound Card Issues!! Nuggets Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 06-12-2007 09:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.