ultimate gaming pc - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2004, 03:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

I think you should be safe and go AGP instead of PCI express, I have not heard any definitive statements taking PCIE over AGP, but I am not terribly familiar with them.
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 07:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
I think you should be safe and go AGP instead of PCI express, I have not heard any definitive statements taking PCIE over AGP, but I am not terribly familiar with them.
PCI Express eliminates the bottleneck up and down transfer rate that AGP still struggles with, not to mention transfer rates that are twice as fast as AGP.

Quote:
Why would you say this? I'm going to buy the 4000+, but im interested to here your reasoning on this matter, considering the 55 has a higher clock speed and everything else is the same.
From what I have read, the 4000+ is just plain faster than the FX-55, and it overclocks a lot better as well. Don't always be decieved by frequency speed.

Quote:
hmmm i dont get this this says "AMD ATHLON 64 4000+ S939 NEWCASTLE 2.4GHZ 1MB CPU" why does it say 2.4ghz does that mean that 4000+ is like a pentium 2.4?
AMD makes faster and better cores than Intel, so they don't have to clock them as high to reach the same performance level as Intel. Consider the 4000+ as an equivelent to a Pentium 4 clocked at 4Ghz. Also, Winchester Cores are better than Newcastle cores, so dish out the few extra bucks and get the better core.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 07:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

If you want the best of the best get this
________________________________
AMD FX-55
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX
2XWD raptors 74gig
Seagate 200gig SATA
2X6800Ultra
Thermaltake Xazer III VA2000D
Liqued nitrigen cooling
_________________
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 07:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

Then OC your FX-55 to 3.4ghz and you can beat any system on the maket
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 07:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

2X1gig OCZ platinum rev2
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 02:14 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 33
Default

The amd 64 4000+ is just a FX-53 with locked multipliers. Get the FX-55 if you want the fastest gaming chip.
Hecubus28 is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 06:50 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

lol, i dont know where you people get your facts from, the 4000+ could not outperform the FX-55. the 4000 is just a renamed FX-53, which is older and slower than the FX-55, im not saying its slow, far from it.

The best gaming system would look something like:

Abit motherboard, with SLI (not out yet, due in soon, its like the asus one with SLI, but better.)
AMD Athlon FX-55
4x1024Mb sticks of PC3200 (or any other faster ram if you wanted to overclock)
2 6800Ultra EE's (best card out at the moment)
4x WD 148Mb Raptors ( 2 arrays, both RAID 0)
plextor optical drives
2.88Mb floppy drive (make that 2... lol)

i think thats about it.... anything of importance anyway because the other stuff like PSU and case is a matter of opinion, so in the true spirit of posting nicely on these forums, i wont start a flamewar by suggesting a case
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 01:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
4x1024Mb sticks of PC3200 (or any other faster ram if you wanted to overclock)
That's a waste of money right there, no consumer application out right now, even the most hardcore games, would ever need that much memory.

Also, I don't know why the hell a gaming PC would need nearly 600GBs of storage space, that's barbaric, and especially considering the cost of the Raptor drives right now, that's just not economical. If he ever did get 4 of those drives, I'd go with a RAID 0+1 rather than two RAID 0 arrays.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 09:37 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Yeah, you dont need 4GB Ram. I would suggest SCSI Dual Drives, along with the FX-55, 2GB Ram.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 10:17 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

4 Gigs of ram is quite a waste i must say. Todays applications dont even get close to using 2 gigs never mind 4 gigs.
As for the FX 55 and the 4000+. The FX 55 wips the 4000+ ***.
The FX 55 runs at 2.6Ghz and has unlocked multi's and can overclock to almost 3Ghz on stock cooling. As for the 4000+ it runs at 2.4Ghz and has locked multi's as for the overcloking i dont really know how it does.
Unless someone else can prove me wrong i say the FX55 beats the 4000+.

My Ultimate Gaming Rig

AMD 64 FX 55
DFI SLI Mobo (Not yet out)
2 x Gainwood 6800 Ultras (Golden Samples. Not sure if they make these yet)
1 GIG OCZ 3200 Platium rev 2
OCZ DDR Booster
2x WD 80Gb SATA in raid 0
Logitech Z5500 speakers.
Plextor optical drives
Logitech MX 1000 Cordless Laser Mouse

Neosteve
__________________

__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.