Ultimate gaming comp

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maxsjs

Beta member
Hey guys, I was just wondering if you could help me out, I'm trying to build a top-of-the-line gaming computer and would appreciate your advice on some components, if you've ever used them :)
1. Athlon 64 or Pentium 4 which is best for gaming?
2. Geforce FX 5950 or Radeon 9800XT which rules?
and depending on which processor some advice about mobos would also be great,
cheers

Although not of extreme benefit right now the AMD 64 is already better but will definately be leaps and bounds beyond the P4 when 64 bit programs come out.

ATI Radeon 9800XT woops the crap out of the Nvidia 5950 Ultra, especially when you turn on AF and FSAA. Its no competition.

not sure about motherboards, but ASUS is a great company that i have never had a problem with.

AMD 64
Radeon 9800XT
ASUS SK8N

Thanks for that, think i'll definitely go with the athlon 64 and 9800xt, another question though being as this is my first time building a gaming PC, I don't know what sort of PSU to get, the company I bought my case from put in a 550W PSU but its made by winpower and it costs like thirty pounds, is that a bit cheap for a 550 psu? If so I'm looking for a PSU that will comfortably run the following specs with some slack:
Xaser 3 super tower (7x80mm fans & 1xE-LED light)
Athlon 64 3200+
1GB Corsair pc4000 RAM
36.7Gb western digital raptor 10000rpm
160Gb maxtor 7200rpm
Plextor DVD writer and Drive
Radeon 9800xt

Any suggestions would be great?

a 550 watt PSU will most certainly run those specs, not sure on the price though, search the web for 550 watt PSU's and see what you come up with for prices. a few manufacturers i have heard of are(and would trust) Coolmax, Antec, Powermax, vantec. get any of those brands and you should be satisified with their quailty.

Im in the process of building a new top of the line PC as well, and Ive done alot of research on it, heres the skinny: