uGURU (microGURU) Overclocking, and How will memory stop me? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2005, 08:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default uGURU (microGURU) Overclocking, and How will memory stop me?

The uGURU (microGURU) utility came with my Abit AV8 mobo. It lets me, like so many other programs, adjust the speed of the FSB on the PC. I know its not a smart thing to use, but I have no alternative.

My main questions are 1.) By what amount should I change the voltage as I increase the speed of the FSB. And 2.) How will I know when my memory has reached it's maximum overclockability? I could just keep increasing the FSB speed and not know when the memory can't take it anymore.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 08:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

You should do it through BIOS. Just use the uGuru to monitor the stuff.

Change the voltage when your memory fails on bootup.

Your memory has gone to far when you use a stressful app and your computer crashes. Back it down a little bit and keep it at what it is.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 08:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Ok, thanks a lot. Exactly what I was looking for. But for the CPU, its a 3200+ Venice; how much should I increase the voltage for that as it goes higher?
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 09:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

So...anyone? By how much should I increase the voltage as I increase the processor speed?
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 09:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well it's on a per CPU limit

Personally I would go around 1.8 with decent cooling, im at 1.8 now, but im on a newcastle
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 12:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

I'm at 1.4 and going at 2.0 GHz not overclocked right now 0_0 Since I'm going to be increasing the FSB by 5MHz each time, I need to know after how many MHz I need to step up the voltage. At 2.06 Ghz? 2.1 Ghz?
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 12:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

I would say after 2.2 Ghz you step up the voltage.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 12:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You shouldn't have to guess as to when to raise the voltage. First, you should be doing this through the BIOS, raising the FSB speed by increments of about 5MHz. Then you should boot into windows and run prime95, if it fails, you should either run memtest to determine if it is the processor or memory, and then either increase the vcore, or loosen timings and increase vdimm.

Once you are finished, you should run prime95 for 24 hours to ensure stability
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 01:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

I see, thanks. Yea, my BIOS has the uGuru utility integrated into it. Its not quite as featureful as the one in Windows, but it serves the purpose. Ok Gaara, thanks.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.