Ugrading components of computer, have not done this before. Advice appreciated!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tedhiggins

Baseband Member
Right well im pretty new to all thie tech issues here. But fortunatly im not that dumb!? Im about to upgrade my computer. The components are:

Asus A7v600 Motherboard
256Mb 2100 Ram
80gb 7200 and 30gb 7200
Ati 7200 64mb graphics
1.3Ghz Duron (apparently the guy who overclocked said he got it to 1.8+ and it was stable, have my doubts)
Volcano 9 heatsink and fan (copper base)
CdRW 12/10/32
DVd
Zip
floppy
SB1024
harman/kardon speakers
keyboard and mouse

The most pressing question i have is how to avoid static destruction, what to beware of when upgrading (i.e. Jumpers and remembering wjhere it all goes), also do i need thermal paste? - i was hoping just to put the heatsink/fan straight onto the CPU, is this right? Obviously will fully back up all info first as am worried about the CPU. Any thoughts on how far i can push it.

I have info on motherboard settings and how to change multiplyers but was hoping for a little insider knoledge on this.

Cheers.

Best thing to do about static shock is to wear an anti static wrist band. You can get on at radio shack for about five dollars. Also work on a wooden surface to help as well. Since the cpu is a pull(pulled from another computer). You want to clean all the thermal compound off it before you install it. You can use rubbing alcohol(work great for me.). Other than that, read your mobo manual, then read it again. Have fun.

you have already made a big mistake by getting a duron. get an XP CPU instead, or at the very least get an athlon, anything is better than a duron or deleron. all your other nice hardware will be a waste of money on a duron or celeron.

to avoid static discharge touch the metal part of the case while the computer is off with the power cord still plugged in the wall and unplug the power cord from the wall outlet.