UEFI Over Clock help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2015, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: US
Posts: 57
Default UEFI Over Clock help

I am trying to overclock my AMD FX 6530



Where would I find CPU Ratio and NB Ratio?

Also I pushed my clock speed up 5% but when I go above that windows wont boot

Edit: Dropped back down to 0% as a game crashed...
__________________

Lukario45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 04:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: UEFI Over Clock help

Don't worry about overclocking your CPU. Any performance gains you'll get would be from GPU right now until you get a more powerful graphics solution.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 04:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: US
Posts: 57
Default Re: UEFI Over Clock help

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Don't worry about overclocking your CPU. Any performance gains you'll get would be from GPU right now until you get a more powerful graphics solution.
Can I overclock that?
Lukario45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: UEFI Over Clock help

What do you have again?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 05:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: US
Posts: 57
Default Re: UEFI Over Clock help

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
What do you have again?
Amd Radeon 5450
Lukario45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 05:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: UEFI Over Clock help

Lol I wouldn't. Not even worth the time really and doesn't have a good enough cooler or VRM circuit to handle it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 02:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: UEFI Over Clock help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukario45 View Post
I am trying to overclock my AMD FX 6530
Also I pushed my clock speed up 5% but when I go above that windows wont boot

Edit: Dropped back down to 0% as a game crashed...


View this video first and look at everything he has.
Go back into your bios and look, when you find what he did to turn off auto oc.
Disable that, scroll down till you find your cpu frequency.
Your default speed should 3.90hgz aka 3900mhz.
Tone down that speed to 3000mhz, next find the oc frequency like you saw in the video.
Pur it at 3900 or 4000mhz, also to be on the safe side, bring down your memory speed to 1333.
Save your settings and reboot, if its done right, your machine will kick back on immediately or in 30 seconds.
If everything is fine and swell, bump the memory speed to 1600 and save it.
If that works leave it at that and your computer will be fine.

Like I mentioned a few times to you and others it doesn't take a whole lot of speed and what not to game well with amd.
If you have a new game that needs the speed or app that takes alot of cpu horsepower.
Windows will kick up the speed when it needs to, when you don't need it.
It go back to default or idle at 1400mhz, you can download hw monitor to see it in action.

If your still weary about the settings host another link first, also try to shrink your image down a tad bit.
You made my windows phone burst into flames when I was at work earlier viewing your images. X_X
Also do what cory mentioned and wait till you get your gpu.
Then you can officialy oc it.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ssd doesn't show up in uefi boot mode Fat.Clown Microsoft Windows and Software 2 07-26-2013 03:54 PM
My UEFI Bios and my Biostar TA970 board, non extreme edition. theredmatter1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-18-2013 09:32 PM
Goodbye BIOS Here Comes UEFI Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 02-06-2008 09:22 AM
reboots over and over and over again bumpin_records Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-16-2006 11:24 AM
diff. between core clock and memory clock natedogg42 Overclocking and Modding 3 07-17-2004 12:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.