a ? for u AMD guys - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2005, 03:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Amd fx-55 ??

ok so i have a question that comes from pure ignorance so please bare with me.

Basicaly i am wondering what makes the amd fx -55 so good.
intel has a chip that operatse at 3.6 ghz from the factory and the fx-55 is at 2.4? so why in theory is this a better processor. It costs a hell of a lot more too... im just looking to learn here.. so dont be afraid to tell me all the details. thanks guys
__________________

Phoenix27 is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 04:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well, simply put...AMD utilizes the clock cycles more efficiently. Recently there was a thread regarding the FX-55 against a 4ghz Pentium. The FX-55 dominated the pentium...and they wondered how far it would need to go to compete with the AMD...they had to use subzero temps to cool the intel chip and OC'd it to 5.2GHz and only then did it finally compete with the FX-55.

AMD is able to do more instructions per clock cycle than Intel due to shorter thinner pipelines compared to longer fatter pipelines by intel.

Numbers now-a-days in terms of clockspeed, doesn't mean squat when comparing Intels and AMD's.

When you see an AMD processor like AMD64 4000+ that means it performs approx to that of a 4GHz Intel if not better.

The FX series are really powerful CPUs
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 05:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 33
Default

Also the FX-55 is not clocked at 2.4, that would be the FX-53. The FX-55 is clocked at 2.6
Hecubus28 is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 09:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

And the FX-53 still can beat out all the intel's for gaming though

It's an instructions per clock cycle thing, intel sucks at it, as well as their laggy.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 09:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

You have to wait for intel to release a new extreme edition for the 600 series though. The price of the higher-end 600's aren't as costly as the FX-55. I know someone who overclock an intel 3.6 ghz extreme to about 4.2ghz. It beat a lot of the benches of the fx-53's. But the extreme editions are meant to be more overclockable and they are priced much higher as is the fx series.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 05:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Stupid question but are the FX chips 64bit?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 05:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Yea they are
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 05:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Oh...one more thing about this topic...AMDs are about 150% faster w/ their good architecture. So a 3.00 ghz AMD is about the same as a (multiply by 1.5) 4.5 Intel.
And the PowerPC architecture, it's about 200% faster than it's clock speed. So a 3.00 ghz aple is about equal to a 6.00 ghz intel and a 4 gig AMD.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 05:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

I keep having to add stuff, don't I? Bear with me here...
The FX-55 is 2.6 gighertz, right...that's about equal to a 3.9 gighertz intel....
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 05:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Use edit next time. -.-
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.