Tyan unleashes 16-core 'personal' supercomputer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2006, 03:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

its like SETI... if that helps.... they link personal computers together thru the net to work on really complex science stuff like predicting how protiens will react to different compounds and stuff.
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 05:38 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
I would like to buy that and see if SuperPI could take advantage of that.... Or anything that crunchs numbers >_< SETI... Folding@home.... anything....
superpi.......no, not multi-threaded and you can't run multiple instances (successfully anyway)
seti@home.......not sure
folding@home.......not multi-threaded but multiple instances of the console version can be run, i have 2 running constantly.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 06:21 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

It uses a OS that is built to spread the work load... Don't need multi threaded software to use on it ya know.... It IS considered a personal Super Computer...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 01:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

No, thats just what the company calls it. It is not a super computer. You could build something like that.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 02:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

i didnt see it in the article but how are they connecting the 4 mobos?
harley3344 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 08:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

via network i assume, its clustering
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 08:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

why didn't they use Opterons? they're more powerful than current Xeons
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 09:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
why didn't they use Opterons? they're more powerful than current Xeons
Quote:
Computex 2006 Taiwan's Tyan today pledged to ship a deskside "personal supercomputer" powered by eight Intel low-voltage 'Woodcrest' Xeon processors and
not the current Xeon. its for the core 2 series
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.