Two fans per knob on a fan controller? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2005, 09:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default Two fans per knob on a fan controller?

I was wondering how well it works when you have a four knob fan controller, and you put two fans (Five 120mm's, 4 80mm's total) off of each output.

Thanks for the help!

Yan B.
__________________

__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

depends on the wattage of the fans and how many watts per channel the fan controller is rated at
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 09:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I was considering tring that my self. I would assume that the two fans wouldnt run as fast as they would with just one fan on that controler channel. If you dont need them to run at full rpm's it would be worth it.

Try it, i havent yet because i dont have more fan than channels right now.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

i think it would be fine as long as the wattage being used by both of the fans combined can be handled by the fan controller
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 10:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I would assume that the two fans wouldnt run as fast as they would with just one fan on that controler channel.
Then you'd assume wrong. I currently have my 2 120mm's on one channel on my sunbeam rheobus...the 2 fans being controlled are the ones for my heatercore in my water cooling setup... Then I'll be having 2 more 120mm's on one channel, and 2 high powered 60mm's on 1 channel, and then the rear fan on it's on channel.

Like anything else....if your fan controller has say like 20w per channel like mine does, and combined your fans would only use 18w, then it will fully power both....but if you had 15w per channel and tried putting on like 3 tornados which suck a lot of power then chances are you'd fry your controller
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 12:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Just take my advice, do not attempt to install multiple fans on a single channel when using both a generic PSU and controller, the results are not pleasant in the least.

That is why I now possess a rheobus.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 12:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Well, the PSU will be an OCZ Powerstream 600 watt, by no means generic, and this is the controller, http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...883-001&depa=0
I found a review online somewhere that said it was OK for dual fan setups, or at least I think I did. I think I read either 18 or 24 watts per channel, I am trying to find the review, but I am not getting the Goolge results I remember I got.

Thanks,

Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 01:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You don't get half the power when using a Y splitter, when there is ample power on the rail. If there wasn't ample power, than it wouldn't get the full amount of power each fan needs.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 02:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Whatever the case, it simply is not wise or practical or advisable to do what you are saying. Get additional controllers, or use the molex connectors comming from the PSU.
Him is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Him - you couldnt possibly more wrong......not only is it perfectly safe assuming you aren't trying to put 3 tornados on the rail it's completely practical...it's obviously not a case of needing more power connectors but the simple fact he wants to control them
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.