Tweak or overclock components - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2006, 09:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15
Question Tweak or overclock components

Dear,
I have (MSI) P4N Diamond motherboard. The BIOS of this motherboard enable user to modify or over-clock VGA,RAM and CPU Performance.

Kindly tell me up to what level I can set the values at BIOS settings menu that is suitable for my hardware components i.e.

[VGA] (MSI) Geforce 6, NX6800GT-T2D256E
[Motherboard] (MSI) P4N Diamond
[Processor] (Intel) PentiumĀ® 4 Processor 640, 3.20 GHz, FSB 800 MHz.
[Ram] (Corsair) Corsair CM2X1024-6400, 2GB, Twin2x, 800 MHz

(For Graphics card settings)
PCIE Frequency
This field allows you to select the PCIE frequency (in MHZ). Select the number between [100] ~ [145]

VGA PERFORMANCE BOOST
This field allows you to overclock the core clock of graphics card by the ratio.
Settings option:

NV4X Core clock Overclocking
[Disabled] [Private 1%] [Sergeant 3%] [Captain 5%] [Colonel 7%] [General 10%] [Commander 15%]

NV4X Memory clock Overclocking
[Disabled] [Private 1%] [Sergeant 3%] [Captain 5%] [Colonel 7%] [General 10%] [Commander 15%]



(For motherboard or CPU settings)
System Clock Mode
[Auto] Set FSB & Memory clock automatically

[Linked] Allows Memory and FSB to overclock proportionally

[Manual] Enter FSB Memory clock manually




(For memory or RAM settings)
Memory Timings
[Auto] [Manual]

If set to manual these settings available,

CAS Latency
[Auto] [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7]
tRCD
[Auto] [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7]
tRP
[Auto] [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7]
tRAS
[Auto] [1 ~ 15]
tRC
[Auto] [1 ~ 15]
Address Mode
[Auto] [1T] [2T]
[B]
__________________

salmanzk is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

You basically have to figure out what works for you. You can only up the FSB so much before the CPU becomes unstable. To make it stable again, you have to increase the CPU's core voltage (vCORE), and that causes it to get much hotter. Therefore, you'll most likely need liquid cooling to keep a high OC and be stable. Every machine is different, so it's hard to say how far you can go.

I bet you could hit 3.7 - 3.8GHz before you run into problems.. but don't mark my words for it, I'm bad with Intel.. but I hear they can OC much more than an AMD.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 10:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default

i have the same processor i leave it around 3.5 ghz without voltage mods, but with them i havent been anywhere over 3.75 i think my fsb was at 231 or soemthing like that with voltage at 1.4, wouldnt post past 3.6 without voltage mods. never really saw a huge change in temps even with 1.4v but i have no need for anything over 3.5 so i keep it at that

i would use coolbits and the nvidia program to overclock your video card you can change memory clock as well at core clock with that
__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 08:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
You basically have to figure out what works for you. You can only up the FSB so much before the CPU becomes unstable. To make it stable again, you have to increase the CPU's core voltage (vCORE), and that causes it to get much hotter. Therefore, you'll most likely need liquid cooling to keep a high OC and be stable. Every machine is different, so it's hard to say how far you can go.

I bet you could hit 3.7 - 3.8GHz before you run into problems.. but don't mark my words for it, I'm bad with Intel.. but I hear they can OC much more than an AMD.
A good air cooler is usually same or better than water cooling. I recomend a Thermaltake Big Typhoon with some AS5.
comrad is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 09:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
A good air cooler is usually same or better than water cooling.
now that is a straight up load of dung. true you can get great coolers like the TT Big Typhoon (have one myself) but they are not in the same league as watercooling.
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.