turning my comp on for the first time - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2005, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default turning my comp on for the first time

i built this comp from scratch and now have everything assembled. this is the first comp i ever built so i would appreciate if you guys could list some steps that i need to take and in what order
__________________

Effex is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

So wait, you have already built this machine and have it up and running?
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

hmmmmmmmm press button, raise hands slightly in air, wait for beep, if no beep place hands over face and say "what have I done". If beep continue holding that position, wait a moment, if a screen comes on raise hands above your head and say "success!", if not place hands over face and say "what have I done?"

ok I'm being a smart ***, but heres what you do double check everything one last time before you throw the power to it. The hit the button, and hopefully it'll beep once and goto the memory test screen, where it will tell you to hit del(or some other key) to go into the bios. Go into the bios, change the boot sequence to read the cddrive first, put your winxp disk in the cddrive, then save and exit. Then if all goes well xp setup will start and you'll have to partition and format the drive. At some point in the setup it will want to reboot, change the boot sequence back to the Harddrive, save and exit, and let xp setup continue.

Thats a greatly shortened version, but its not too complex. Unless your installing on sata drives, then you first have to make a floppy with the sata drivers supplied with your motherboard
Sui is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default

it isnt detecting my sata hd, so it cant install winxp.

i double checked all the wire connections and they are tight. the hd has 3 wires to it(2 of em coming from the psu), why would it have a 4pin and a custom connector for the hd

i have the sata drivers on a floppy btw
Effex is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

You may need to go into the BIOS and enable the connections for your SATA drives. My board came with the onboard componets disabled, like the Audio and Network...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default

it is enabled
Effex is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

When you are first entered into the Blue windows setup screen, hit F6, (JUST KEEP SLAMMING IT !) because the option is displayed QUICK. After you hit F6, and everything is finished being loaded, you will be prompted to intall disk drivers. Go through the prompts, insert your Floppy that came with the MB (to hold the SATA HD Drivers) and windows will look to it.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 07:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default

i hit f6 repeatedly as soon as the blue screen appeared and during the prompt and it fails to recognize that, f6 works too...i tested it in the BIOS. it finished loading and still didnt prompt anything...

wtfh?
Effex is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 10:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default

what else can i try?
Effex is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 03:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

If you bought your HD retail, it probably came with drivers on a boot disk. Throw that in there, format the disk to your liking, then install the drivers according to the disk instructions. If you didn't buy the drive retail, look online, the company may have posted an iso of it or something.

About F6 and windows: The option is there. I have seen it on my old XP Home disk. Keep trying, at least once more before you try the HD disk, if you have it.
__________________

__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.