Trying to OC my acient pc! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2004, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default Trying to OC my acient pc!

ok i have an intel p2 at a whopping 350mhz. when i go into the bios, it shows the all the specs and such but i cannot change the cpu speed. is there a way to overclock it or it is not possible? i believe my bios is phoenix 2.0 or 3.0
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

Check the manual, you may have to play with the jumpers to get an overclock outta that
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 02:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

no manual no nothing
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 03:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Default

yeah, I got a Dell P3 450mhz, which I woulnt mind over clocking. But you cant do it through the bios, its gotta do with jumpers. If anyone knows any links please share the wealth
PersianMafia is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 05:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

You won't do it any harm if you remember where everything was originally. Keep an eye on the temperature and fiddle about with things - only do this if you don't care if it breaks

Edit: Oh! The jumpers on the motherboard are usually labelled, that should give you a head start
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 09:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

yea u can usually find manuals on the internet belive it or not, find the exact model number of ur board or pc and type it in on google u might get lucky chances are sum1 else wants to do the same thing u do and found a way
__________________

__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.