trying not to panic here... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2006, 09:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default trying not to panic here...

okay i dont know exactly what went wrong, but my PC wont restart. let me tell you everything i did in the last couple hours.
a guy from this forum PM'd me and we chatted on aim. i told him i was doing this project for english and i asked him if he wanted to see what i've written so far. he said sure so i sent him the file and he made some changes and corrections. so he sent to file back to me and i opened it (.doc format).
i signed up for spikedhumor.com and uploaded a video. it said i must subscribe to at least one sponsor to create an account so i clicked on a save the children one and it had this pop up which i immediatly closed (i always do...) but then thats when my comp started acting funny, not letting me type in some areas in my broswer (address bar) or not letting me copy and paste. so i restarted my computer. when it restarted and i saw the press delete now to enter bios screen i did because i wanted to play with 1.450w and 211mhz. so i set it to that and after that i couldnt boot windows. it'd say boot from cd 3..2..1.. crap like it always does then black screen. i said.. hmm okay well ill put the bios settings back the way they were but now i cant even get into the BIOS!!!!!111 what do i do!>!>!>!!?!? omg panicing.

edit: got back into the bios but its only showing me three options instead of all 12 or something. wierd........!!!
edit 2: okay in the bios again (frozen like last time) and its only showing me 8 of the 12 options.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Reset the CMOS. Then see if the comp will boot, then shut it down again and see if you can go into the bios again. Then after boot into safe mode and bombard your computer with virus/spyware scans, oh btw use hi-jack this aswell.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

hey thanks, it worked. i totally feel like a noob but hey, we all had our first times right? anyway, another problem im having is im running win pro64x ed. i cant find ne anti-virus programs that will work with my comp. any suggestions? know of any that will run on my comp?
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Download Avast: http://www.avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

i love you.

edit: back on the computer in question, btw
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Lol. Well thank you and your welcome.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

any recommendations on a 64x version of some anti-spyware stuff? there are so many shady anti-spyware exe's out there that put more spyware on ur comp..
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 11:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

how is x64 running anyway??.. i was really interested in buying that, to see whats so great about it.. just to see how much more different it is compaired to regular xp... maybe try out 4 gb's just for the he1l of it
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 05:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Ad-Aware: http://www.lavasoft.de/software/adaware/

You can also try www.trendmicro.com (online virus scan, works very well)
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 06:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

to tell you the truth nosboost, i don't really realize that much diffrence. then again, this is my first computer that counts as high performance. its a lot faster than anything i've ever had. or seen for that matter.
does that adware thing cover spyware too? is spyware in the adware category? i dont know much about this stuff.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.