Triple monitor probs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2006, 10:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default Triple monitor probs

I have 1 PCIE 6800GT and 1 6200 pci card. I have my good LCD on the pcie cars and a large (19 inch) CRT monitor. I have 1 small (15 In) on the 6200. I just put in the 6200 and dont have the driver cd. the cds at a friends house 100 miles away and wont get to see him soon. I let a friend use this card at a lan party and It screwed up his computer because we installed the apparent incorect drivers. I really dont want to install any drivers unless im sure. I would like the LCD to be in the middle of the 3 then the large CRT on the right and the small CRT on the left. I have the small CRT in the center and the LCD on the left ( on duel display) I want to be able to directly scroll from one monitor to the other, as in order. does anyone have a program that will allow me to do this. currently i can only change the possitions and resoluton of the monitors on the 6800GT (PCIE).should i even install the other drivers? will those screw up my current gc? If i remove the 6200 would the drivers on that card screw up the drivers on the 6800? oh and absolutly none of my games will play with the card installed. they all show up on the 6200 monitor also the internet when i scroll is very choppy and sucks. I appreciate the time.
__________________

harley3344 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ummhh I think the cards have to be the same. I dont think you can run those cards simotanesly. Only two monitors unles you get some adatper.

from what I know anyway.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 11:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

It was... this morning i restarted and now the 3ed monitor wont come on at all. I need those drivers...
harley3344 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

ok nvm. I got all three working as i want them with absolutly no prob i took a leap of faith and installed drivers that i found off the net U were wrong lance the 6200 works fine along with my 6800
harley3344 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

really. Well maybe it is because they both use different interfaces.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 12:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

scratch that... maybe there is a prob with the card (cuz this happend on anouther computer also) I get to run for about 10 mins and then i get the hardware malfunction blue screen on the monitor connected to the 6200 =/ I guess its time to rma the gc...
harley3344 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 07:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

why would it restart randomly. also how do i select which gc is the primary. when its posting it only posts on the new gc's monitor. this isnt really a prob but it owuld be nice to know. also when i try to play a video it kinda ... skips BAD but only on the 6200's monitor. srry if i sounded a little mean when i said u were wrong.
harley3344 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 07:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Well one card is faster than another so one card will run crappy and another will run decently. Gotta remember its probably fighting over which card to support in game. I wouldnt do this. Sounds dumb and dangerous.

Edit - Why would you need 3 monitors?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 08:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

dangerous? lol how could it be dangerous? i dont play games on the 2ed card and when im playing games the 2ed card doesnt heat up (good thing about 3 monitors have game on one internet on other and monitoring software on the last one) a 6200 should be able to play a movie easly why wont this one?
harley3344 is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 01:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

nice, did u ever go to www.nvidia.com and get the most recent drivers? here, ill get u a link...LINK that should make it not bs, its the most recent drivers, i got same ones, i got 3 gfx cards, and 4 monitors(geforce mx4000, 3dfx voodoo3, and an ati pro rage turbo iic agp 4x)and they all work, prob is cpu is too slow. ne of u guys think this would work? link
as for internet, sounds like system lag, or ur inet is bad(dsl/cable/watever) maybe a defrag could help
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.