Tried overclocking, failed, cried - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2005, 07:03 PM   #31 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
whoa geez 1.7V!
I used to push it just past 1.8
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 07:04 PM   #32 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to SamLee0519
Default

My load temp on my 3200+ Winchester is 28 degrees celsius. WINCHESTER! Not Venice.


And with that Venice, you should have no problem OCing. And why the hell did you decrease the multiplier to 4x? Least you should do is 7-8x. 9x is recommended. 10x is good.

A friend of mine has his 3000+ Venice at 250*9, but now he has it at 267*9 (2.4GHz) [[4000+ Specs]]

My point? You should OC easily with that CPU. But Motherboard counts the most on OCing. With that MSI OC Technology, you should have no problems. Try doing 250*9 first.
__________________

SamLee0519 is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:21 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
And with that Venice, you should have no problem OCing. And why the hell did you decrease the multiplier to 4x? Least you should do is 7-8x. 9x is recommended. 10x is good.
uhh I believe he's talking about the HTT Multi dude, not the CPU...you HAVE to lower the HTT multi to 4x from 5x once you go above 200HTT...and you gotta lower it to 3x once you go above 250
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:23 PM   #34 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

really? you have to lower the mult to 3x once you get over 250. no wonder it wasnt working?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:42 PM   #35 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

heh my computer ran fine with a 4x above 250 but i decided to lower it to 3x to be safe lol, and im curious as to why the AMD website dont list the 3400s on socket 939....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:44 PM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
really? you have to lower the mult to 3x once you get over 250. no wonder it wasnt working?
It's a 2000HTT bus.

200x5 = 1000 x 2 (cause of AMD64s, the 2x is automatic)= 2000

250x4 = 1000 x 2 = 2000

275x4 = 1100 x 2 = 2200 = too much...it needs to be as close to 200 without going over as you can.

275x3 = 825 x 2 = 1650 = fine you won't notice performance loss in a lower HTT

Then beyond that I guess you'd only need to go to 2x assuming you got beyond 333HTT

Quote:
heh my computer ran fine with a 4x above 250 but i decided to lower it to 3x to be safe lol, and im curious as to why the AMD website dont list the 3400s on socket 939....
some computers automatically lower it
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:47 PM   #37 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Never did appear to change in the BIOS it only appeared to change after i flashed it again and changed it my self :-\ oh well >_<
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:48 PM   #38 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

well right im at 2.5 with the multiply at 4, then i went to 2.6 before i knew this. and 3dmark would lock up. is that the problem? so i should lower the multi to 2x and then raise the htt to 260
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:49 PM   #39 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Yea that sounds about right ya ask me :-\
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:51 PM   #40 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah but even if it didn't change in the BIOS when you went to look at it, maybe it actually did if you were to view it with software, however I can't think of software offhand that'll show HTT multi.......hmm "Central Brain Identifier" might actually...hmm nope, just checked and didn't see it offhand.


Quote:
A friend of mine has his 3000+ Venice at 250*9, but now he has it at 267*9 (2.4GHz) [[4000+ Specs]]
Download Central Brain Identifier and it'll give you a 'P-Rating' which I believe is supposed to be somewhat like the processor and 2.4GHz won't register as 4000+, yes I understand the clock speed is the same and all.

I've got mine running at 2.5GHz right now and it's noted as 3951+ in the P-Rating.

Quote:
well right im at 2.5 with the multiply at 4, then i went to 2.6 before i knew this. and 3dmark would lock up. is that the problem? so i should lower the multi to 2x and then raise the htt to 260
No...read what I typed and do the math....3x up until you get above 333, THEN you'd need 2x
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.