Tried overclocking, failed, cried - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2005, 11:28 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I can set my core to 255 X 10 and it's a newcastle...
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 12:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

whats a memory divider? whats this 1:1 ratio?! AAAGGHHHHH
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 01:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

DJ chris what speed is that newcastle stock??
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 01:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
whats a memory divider? whats this 1:1 ratio?! AAAGGHHHHH
Read...the...stickies

A memory divider is used to lower the speed of your memory in the event that your memory cannot maintain the same clockspeed as your FSB...a 1:1 ratio, meaning that your memory and FSB maintain the same speed, is ideal
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 01:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
then consider yourself lucky...beyond that I only consider it stable once it's 12+ hours stable in prime95


However, I'm willing to bet you probably put a divider on your memory whereas septoid didn't...just a guess anyway..

still, making jumps like 200 to 240 isn't very good "OCing ethics" if you will...you're just increasing your chances of fuggin something up that way
Understood, won't do it next time, lol. Yea, I did put a mem divider. No way ValueSelect was gonna do 250MHz.

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Math dude, 240 x 10 = 2.4GHz

But yeah, gurantee any other core out there and you'd have BSODs up and down trying to pull something like that
I overclocked it .1 GHz more after that. The 200-240 was just the first step.

Quote:
whats a memory divider? whats this 1:1 ratio?! AAAGGHHHHH
What Gaara said, however I beg to differ on one topic. I just want to point out that you lose no performance switching the divider away from 1:1. If your memory (like mine) can't do more than 210Mhz, then I wouldn't be able to overclock past 2.1Ghz. But if I set a divider, I can overclock to 2.5Ghz with my memory running at 208Mhz (an overclock almost any memory can do).

However, I do have to agree with gaara, that if you have memory that can overclock well, then yea, a 1:1 ratio is ideal. it makes your memory run much faster, which is usually better.

However, so many people seem to think that a 1:1 ratio is crucial. Its not, its simply ideal.
Flanker is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 02:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
DJ chris what speed is that newcastle stock??
2200mhz / 3400+ Socket 939
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 03:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Newcastle isnt on socket 939 as far as i know.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 05:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yes it is, it was quickly overshadowed by the Winchester though
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 07:15 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
However, so many people seem to think that a 1:1 ratio is crucial. Its not, its simply ideal.
it's not crucial under the assumption you run your HTT at like 330 but then use a divider to make your memory 'only' do 270MHz....THEN it's not important...of course you're not going to lose any performance if your HTT is 250 and your RAM is 200, but if your RAM CAN do 250 then it needs to be up there, but like I said the 1:1 really loses it's importance once you have a really high *** HTT, and even though your RAM might be able to go high, it can't go quite THAT high.

In the nf3 board I was running like 310HTT with a divider keeping my memory around 266MHz
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 10:02 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Could have sworn that i read somewheres that the winchester core was the first core made for socket 939..... And i also looked at the AMD site and the 3400+ was released on socket 754 only....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.