Tried Overclocking - BIO will not post - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2010, 03:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 35
Default Tried Overclocking - BIO will not post

Hello guys,

Yesterday my friend tried to overclock my computer, and after a few runs that were going good, my computer stopped working. What started to happen is that the computer would turn on, but nothing on the screen would show. He tried to hard reset it and it did not work. He popped the motherboard battery but nothing helped. Later on he came back with some testing kits, plugged it into the motherboard, and it show code OP, which was not in the book and he had no idea what is wrong. The motherboard's little screen is showing the number 63.

My spces are:
Q9550
4G RAM Gskill
Tpower 145 motherboard
GTX Core 260
Corsair 650W

I have a feeling that something is wrong with the power supply, but I dont know enough about hardware to actually make a valid guess.

I would be greatful for any feedback and help

Thanks
__________________

Pinhas is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 03:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Tried Overclocking - BIO will not post

Just pulling the battery out doesnt always work.

Check the mobo manual and pop the battery, then reset the CMOS jumpers.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Tried Overclocking - BIO will not post

Looking at your hardware specs I would think the mobo died before the power supply.

If your mobo is using a Award Bios then 63 is Initialize Mouse - Detect if mouse is present, initialize mouse, install interrupt vectors

If your cpu overheated a little in the overclocking session and the thermal paste was old it might have contaminated the thermal interface causing it to overheat and lockup after a few seconds (under a minute).

Try removing the heatsink and cleaning it and the top of the cpu with rubbing alcohol and then applying new paste. If you don't have any paste buy some and wait until you have it before proceeding. While your at it clean the heatsink fins and fan with compressed air. After reassembling everything don't forget to plug the fan into the mobo power header. It might work and it might not, here's a link to some cheap but good thermal paste.
Newegg.com - Tuniq TX-2 Cooling Thermal Compound - Thermal Compound / Grease
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: Tried Overclocking - BIO will not post

Had someone look at it and he said that the motherboard didn't have all the "stoppers" out in and that may have caused s short. Is that possible?
Pinhas is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 07:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Tried Overclocking - BIO will not post

I have no idea what a stopper is.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 07:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Tried Overclocking - BIO will not post

Maybe but as it was running before you oc'd, i wouldn't expect it to be.

Edit, I assumed stoppers to be the stand offs
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 08:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: Tried Overclocking - BIO will not post

I may have mis heard him. He was talking about the screws that come with the board and according to him also serve as protection against surges, or something similar.

As it was working great before he attempt I am inclined to agree that something happened during the overclocking.
Pinhas is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 10:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Tried Overclocking - BIO will not post

^ I'm only using 8 out of 9 screws and stand-offs... It's ok as long as they aren't in a 'heavy' spot on the board, as I put it.. it could warp the board over time though.

Just look thru your manual and look up the CMOS reset.. It's common to have to do that during overclocking if your board didn't like the settings. You are describing a condition we like to call a "No POST." When you first fire up the rig it goes into a power on system test or Post operation system test. That's when you typically see the board logo or IRQ config/list screen. If it's not doing that you need to reset the CMOS jumper.. Some board do it differently with the battery in or out. Consult your manual to find out how yours is done.

If it doesn't reset, just unplug the power supply, and take the battery out and let the board sit overnight to drain everything.. My Gigabyte board was dead for months before it finally decided to fire up.. -Don't ask, I have NO idea..
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No POST, No Beep(s), Swapped EVERY part slvrstang New Systems | Building and Buying 8 05-07-2009 09:55 PM
New to Overclocking, any help is awsome Whizkey Overclocking and Modding 0 12-10-2008 09:05 AM
Intel to Retaliate to AMD Phenom II Overclocking Feat, Plans Demonstration at CES '09 gurusan New Technology and Products 40 12-04-2008 04:27 AM
Computer Refuses to Post. Metal3169 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-31-2007 04:57 PM
Type of Post and Rules for this forum. Larry New Technology and Products 5 06-03-2005 04:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.