Tricking the PSU?... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2010, 08:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Guttzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 372
Default Tricking the PSU?...

I have just installed all the water cooling parts and now it's time to leak test... I have seen where people "trick" their PSU into thinking it is plugged in to the MB so they can test the pump but I'm not sure about this...

I have the corsair 850 HX... I have read to put a paper clip connecting the green wire to one of the ground wires (Black)? Does anyone know if this will hurt my PSU?

Is the only other option to fully connect everything back into the MB? Like HDD and Optical and everything? Please let me know the "trick" and if not then what I need to do... thanks for any help guys
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master ATCS 840 | I7 920 DO Watercooled @ 3.4ghz | Corsair 850HX | EVGA E758-A1 X58 | G-Skill 12gb DDR3 RAM | EVGA GTX 680 4GB | Samsung 830 SSD 128gb + Caviar Black 1TB | Samsung T240 | Logitech G-15 + G9X | Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit | LG 8X BD-ROM Combo Drive | S-Flex SFF21F Case Fans |
Guttzu is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 08:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Tricking the PSU?...

Use a paper clip to short the green wire to any black wire (check on this... I'm not 100% sure) but I would recommend using a spare PSU. Turning the PSU off and on repeatedly isn't that great for it... I think I killed my old 750 TX like that as it died about one day after I was setting up my w.c system
__________________

__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 08:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Guttzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 372
Default

Ok I don't have a spare psu... So I'm thinking just install everything back in the case and run the test from there?... I don't need to have a monitor hooked up... just the case and that's it... lots of paper towels around everything to catch a leak... I'll be sitting next to it all night watching movies so its all good lol... I'm not going to put a paper clip in if it's gonna mess my psu up...

Update:

So the paper clip works! The green wire and the black one to the left of it. Loop is running and there are no noticeable signs of a leak... paper towel is around everything so we will see here in a couple of hours...
__________________
Cooler Master ATCS 840 | I7 920 DO Watercooled @ 3.4ghz | Corsair 850HX | EVGA E758-A1 X58 | G-Skill 12gb DDR3 RAM | EVGA GTX 680 4GB | Samsung 830 SSD 128gb + Caviar Black 1TB | Samsung T240 | Logitech G-15 + G9X | Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit | LG 8X BD-ROM Combo Drive | S-Flex SFF21F Case Fans |
Guttzu is offline  
Old 07-05-2010, 03:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Tricking the PSU?...

MOST power supplies you can just hook the green wire to any ground which is black, most prefer a ground right beside it, but, they all go to the same place.

Some power supplies you need to have a slight load on it in addition to this, but your water pump and cooling fans will give it this load it may need. Just do NOT let w/e you use to connect the wires to touch anything in the case, I usualy use a paper clip.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-05-2010, 04:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Tricking the PSU?...

The green to black trick should work on any ATX PSU. The green wire is basically the power switch for the PSU, the motherboard uses it to turn on the PSU by shorting it to ground, the same thing you're doing with a paperclip. Any black wire should work as they all tie to the same point inside the PSU.

I've heard that some PSU's need a small load, but I've never seen one where this is the case. If anything the internal fan is enough load to make the PSU turn on.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 07-05-2010, 06:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Guttzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 372
Default Re: Tricking the PSU?...

Thanks for the input guys Yeah I am running the loop right now with the 3 fans on the rad hooked up to the psu... everything is going smoothly Just checked and no leaks so far...
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master ATCS 840 | I7 920 DO Watercooled @ 3.4ghz | Corsair 850HX | EVGA E758-A1 X58 | G-Skill 12gb DDR3 RAM | EVGA GTX 680 4GB | Samsung 830 SSD 128gb + Caviar Black 1TB | Samsung T240 | Logitech G-15 + G9X | Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit | LG 8X BD-ROM Combo Drive | S-Flex SFF21F Case Fans |
Guttzu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat/ Airflow/ PSU Pezzy Overclocking and Modding 7 11-26-2009 10:45 AM
2nd PSU question apsoul Overclocking and Modding 3 10-31-2009 01:03 PM
260GTX and another hard drive on my 460W PSU? jamaicaska New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-07-2008 07:48 AM
malfunctioning psu harry0591 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-04-2008 08:43 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.