tp35d2-a7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2007, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: VT
Posts: 15
Default tp35d2-a7

Thats the board i have. I have a q6600 and I am having trouble overclocking. Can anyone help?

i am running a corsair 520w
the proc is still air cooled but will have water after the 22nd

thanks
__________________

rogcaw82 is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 09:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: tp35d2-a7

what trouble...?
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 08:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: VT
Posts: 15
Default Re: tp35d2-a7

I can't get it to boot over 3.3.
I'm guessing I am not giving enough volts. I gave it 1.5 at one point. I've been shooting for 3.6 and 3.8. If volts is the problem, my water kit should be in the mail tomorrow so I will wait before giving it more juice. I've seen results with this processor over 4 though, that person had mentioned giving it like 1.8 volts though.
rogcaw82 is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: VT
Posts: 15
Default Re: tp35d2-a7

Anyone else out there having luck with this board? Or even using this board.
I have since been able to get a stable 3.5 oc. Stable using everest stress test, I never take the time to let prime run for more than ten minutes.
rogcaw82 is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 03:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: tp35d2-a7

I don't think the Everest stress test is good enough to stress, compared to Orthos or Prime. The best test for stability, is running Orthos or Prime for 6hrs minimum, 8 or more hours, is preferred.

1.5v is getting pretty high. I would also not suggest running 1.8v through the Q6600. That guy, might have used phase change. As long as the temperatures are in safe range, I guess it's ok to up the voltage even higher. But I wouldn't suggest that, for 24/7 use.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-29-2007, 09:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: VT
Posts: 15
Default Re: tp35d2-a7

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I don't think the Everest stress test is good enough to stress, compared to Orthos or Prime. The best test for stability, is running Orthos or Prime for 6hrs minimum, 8 or more hours, is preferred.

1.5v is getting pretty high. I would also not suggest running 1.8v through the Q6600. That guy, might have used phase change. As long as the temperatures are in safe range, I guess it's ok to up the voltage even higher. But I wouldn't suggest that, for 24/7 use.

I started using orthos but it was only stressing 2 cores, so i switched to prime95. It ran for 9 hours and everything was all good so i cancelled it. that was at 3.1 with volts reading at 1.38 temps are 40-49 idle and 52-62 load.
__________________

rogcaw82 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.