too hot? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2005, 07:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

do something about it...? like what? lolz my pc sounds like concorde with the 7 fans u suggestin water coolin or sumamt lol

anyway, i dunno what to do. maybe ity aint worth the trouble for the extra 400mhz. I got the chip at a friends store as a present and id hate to take it back and seem ungrateful, maybe id be better buying one properly next time, oh and the chip was boxed and new, so i doubt it cud have been tampered.

oh dear me.
__________________

dakta is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 07:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

oh and btw is a 2.8gig, 512 ddr and geforce4 128mb card outdated by any chance? I know the gfx isnt really cimplementary but im not bothered on that scale, but is my 380w psu, new case, (i gettin another soon tho) geforce4 sblive, wireless card and that mobo any good? i know u all guys have like 2 gig ram by standard but being a student money iant my thing, so i wanna look after what i got best i can.

Oh yeah and i also got a 160gb hd too, and dvd rewriter (lg, supports all regions and dsics, dvdram included)
__________________

dakta is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 08:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
do something about it...? like what? lolz my pc sounds like concorde with the 7 fans u suggestin water coolin or sumamt lol
\/
Quote:
Take of the HSF from the CPU, clean the surface of the chip and the HS. Apply AS5 and put the HS back on and check it again.
I would bet your heat sink is not seated with your CPU correctly.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 08:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

cheers ill give it a try hold on a min...
dakta is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 08:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Im pretty positive the muti's are locked on P4's. So in that case, if its really at 12. Then you may not have a 2.8ghz processor. Oh and idiotec, very smart you cought that.

But first, has your computer ever shut down? Because mobo's will automatically shut down at such a temp. I suggest doing this. Go to your Bios, and check your temp's. Find what shutdown temp you have. If your temps are exceeding this limit, then your mobo is screwed up. Did you apply any thermal paste to your processor?
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 08:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

well i gave it a shot, the pc has been doing long hours, about 9 hour runs so i was expecting quite a bit of ehat but when its got to the point ive received slight burns off it its gone far enough.

Maybe 9 hours is too long for these? my friends run them as servers like 22hours out of every 24 without problems, but i gues s 9 might just be too much for my specific system.

What cooling solutions do you all use? any devices to route airflow exactly to where you want it? anything whatsoever is appreciated.
Ill check heatsink when its cooled down enough for me to hold it.
dakta is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 08:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

You can run computers for weeks man. Your saying your processor is to hot to touch?
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 08:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

90 C... how is your computer surviving?
SkyHi is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 08:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Is that even possible? My AMD 64 shuts down at 75... I know P4s run hotter but holy crud monkey...
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 09:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Hey, I just though of something
Is the 90C temp the temp you get while running at 2.4 or 2.5GHz (what one was it you said you got it to again?)?

Now stay with me here what if it is a 1.6Ghz chip? That would mean you have it OC'd like crazy! Maybe that's why the temps are so high. Does it run at those temps when it is at 1.6GHz?
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.