is this too high a temp? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2005, 10:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default is this too high a temp?

i just built my new pc, and it's been working awesome so far

i have one question though. it's been folding the whole night, and the temp is stable at 54 c (nothing has been oced yet). is this too high a temp to even attempt ocing? i see everyone saying that temps should be <40 c. am i missing something? i'm using a 2.8ghz prescott (i realize those run hotter, but how much hotter?), and a huge 120mm zalman heatsink.

thanks
__________________

jnev_89 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 11:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

Well if you plan to overclock a prescott, I would recommend some kick *** cooling, or maybe even water cooling. 54 is pretty much normal for idle prescotts. It would probably be worth water cooling if you want to overclock, other than that, you might have problems with damage to the processor.
__________________

algu7344 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 11:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Well the Prescotts temperatures are high to start with, mine got to 64 degrees at full load when I first had it, but I've managed to get it to 3.3 Ghz from 3.0 Ghz with no major changes to the temperature. It's actually gone down since I got it, may be due to the thermal paste settling. I'd still be careful though.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 12:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

54 is at full load, right now i'm idling at 37. i hvae 6 case fans as well, so do you guys think i'm good to go?
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 12:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yea thats pretty good. make sure your temp stays below 50 when you oc.... what is your goal?
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 01:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

this is my first time ocing, so i'm not too ambitious. hopefully i don't mess anything up and get a faster rig at the same time.

i've read that you need to up the vcore when the comp becomes unstable. what will the comp act like when it's unstable? do i need to keep booting into windows when after i riase the fsb 5mhz? by unstable will windows just keep on crashing?

i have a lot of questions

thanks
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 01:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I overclock in windows, as i can set it to default in normal use, like now.

you can overclock by using the uguru software that comes with your motherboard.

it will just crash when unstable.

if you want to quickly try overclocking you can press on the uguru clock, middle button rght button right button middle button, ands it will put it on turbo, which is abit's preset overclocks.


edit: you can raise the fsb a bit, with out raising the voltages, and it doesnt make a huge amount of difference in temps. I have mine at 2016, from 1836, with it being 1*C hotter, at idle and load.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 02:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

you oced yours almost 200mhz without rasing the voltages? that's pretty cool, i thought i'd have to raise the voltages like every 20mhz or so.
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

54c load is good for a prescott. I would just try to keep it under 60c. Bump it up!
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 04:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

after i rasie the fsb a bit, do i need to boot into windows or do i just stay in the bios? how can i tell if the comp is still stable if i only stay in the bios?

i'm justa bit nervous about doing it
__________________

jnev_89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.