Too cold?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2004, 03:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

ok also, no one really answered my question.. if im gonna be using a compressor and then i will be using antifreeze.. will the cpu beable to handle like -20 F?
__________________

__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 03:56 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to zero1424
Default

Well I just have a question why do you need it that cold?
__________________

__________________
my saucy comp
Antec PlusView case
-600w PSU - 20A @ +12v
-Evercool fan controller
-5 LED fans, 4 blue 1 green
-Lian Li T3 Temp. Monitor
-planned mods, see below
ASRock K8S8X motherboard
-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.0ghz
-Heatsink modded with Sunon Tornado, ~38C@Idle, 42C@Full Stress
-Inno3D Tornado nVidia Geforce FX 5600 128mb
-Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
-512mb DDR400 PC3200 2.5CSL
-100gb westen digital

19\" Compaq P900 // 1600x1200@70hz / 800x600@120hz
Intellimouse explorer 4.0a/Thunder8 x-ray pad

planned mods:
coming in mail:
Kingwin K8-heatsink modded with a Sunon(vantec) 84.1cfm fan, and blue lazer LED light kit
Blowholes in top of case with 2x 120mm Thermaltake Blue LED Thunderblade fans with Blade fan grills
Blue Cold Cathode
zero1424 is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 04:03 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

well.. right now i have my aquarius III. for some reason my CPU runs very very hot. When i had it OCed, i had to put it back to normal cause when i would play a game or w/e the CPU temp would go up to 130-140F. So i had to put it back to 2.66. So the compressor would make the antifreeze really cold. But i need to know becuase i need to see if this will work or not..
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 06:15 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

I have heard of people cooling with liquid nitrogen to -156C, and the cpu clocked stupidly far and it goes like nothing you have ever seen. i dont think that you could cool your cpu to much, unless your mobo shatters, or if u have a particularly unstable cpu.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 01:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 123
Default

Read the second reply in this thread. People have cooled way past -20 F and the CPU ran faster than they could imagine. So yes the CPU should handle -20F with no problem.
__________________
No time to sign.
w105 is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 02:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to Borgmeister
Default

Yes, in theory you can get to cold. But none of us have the means to touch it.
__________________
My \'Rig\' (how ghey does that sound?

AMD Athlon 2500+ Mobile@ 2400Mhz
1024 Mb Corsair XMS 3200 DDR RAM(the stufff with the activity LEDs)
ABIT Radeon 9550(water cooling accident)
Jeantech Butterfly V2 Easy maintainence case
Abit AN7 \"guru\" Motherboard
2x 160Gb Samsung SP160N HDD
DVD-RW
DVD-ROM
Netgear 802.11g Wireless Network/Gigabit Ethernet.

Mail me on Borgmeister(at)Gmail(dot).com for invites if you want!
Borgmeister is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 10:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 172
Default

Check this out.

http://www4.tomshardware.com/cpu/20031230/index.html

That liquid Nitrogen at -190C
heavywx is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 10:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default

alright this thread has gone way too far. cooling down to those temps will not damage your processor. no need for any more responses
__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 01:02 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

If you are going to get that good of a cooling unit then overclock that thing til it gets to 30 degrees celsius or sometin so you won't worry about the cold thing.
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 05:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default

just to clear shizhit up here, at absolute zero, the atom on a electron's orbit colapses to the core. Fermilab, in Illinois, an instituion that's splitting atoms right now give their best to bring the temp of the pipeline through which they run the electron cloud as low as possible. I know the guy that conducts the tests, and the reason they get w/in a degree of absolute zero is to improve electrical flow. now i don't know if at absolute zero current would still run through it, even though i believe it would, but i know that at a temperature way above absolute zero **** could shatter on yer motherboard. not only due to vibration from the harddrive, case fans, and all the other ****, but the connections would expand in the processor and would eventually either explode if at the outside (the pins would pop off), or imploade close to the ends. probably both. Also, if you wuold get to ab zero, or close to it, you'd need EXTREMLY rare metals to run the electrical current through it, w/ no impurities and oriented the right way. so all the bull**** about light speed and crap, forget it.
Nobody has ever reached ab zero yet. we dont even know exactly wat would happen when we did.
now to answer the question, as long as you don't see frost building up in yer case, it's all good. however, do contact your processor manufacturer before you **** around w/ it

good luck
__________________

umybiatch2k6 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.