toggle switch - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2004, 05:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default toggle switch

When I go home over winter break I am planning some case mods.

I would like to have a toggle switch placed in the the 3.5 bay. I have three hard drive coolers and two 80mm case fans are are all hooked togther on one channel from my psu. I would like to add a toggle switch in the middle of the fans and psu so i can turn them off at night.

A picture of the switch I have in mind is on this site:

http://www.boatersworld.com/graphics.../198420564.jpg

I can drill a hole for it to fit into the empty 3.5 bay. And find one of these probably at radio shack of an eletronics store. But how would I go about hooking it up to the molex? Which of the four wires do i put this on? Is there anything wrong with what I want to do?

All my other 80mm fans are on a front bay fan controller, so i can already turn those down at night. But I would like to turn the other ones off when I want silence.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 05:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You want the +12v wire to go to your fan and a ground wire, the black one attached to whatever prong will more than likely says GROUND on that switch. The +12v wire is the red one I believe in the molex connector.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 06:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

im looking at a case fan right now and out of the fan there is a red and black wire. the red one goes to the yellow wire on the molex and the black one goes to one of the black ones on the molex. The red one on the molex is not used.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 06:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

These are awesome, i connected lights to them, and you can gte the rocker switches to have red, green, or blue LEDs:

http://www.frozencpu.com/cgi-bin/frozencpu/cpa-18.html




http://www.frozencpu.com/cgi-bin/frozencpu/ele-77.html
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 06:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Thats not really what I am looking for. I just want some kind of a switch i can put on my 3.5 bay to turn the power to the hd fans on and off.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 11:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I found out that the red wire on the molex is the 5v. The yellow one is the 12v. And the black one next to it is for the gnd. So all I have to do is if the fan uses the 12v just put the switch on that that?

It would probably be a bad idea to combine both into one switch.

Has any one tried what I am talking about?

I am thinking of adding a blue led for each switch to show that power is running through. Should I put the led in series or parrallel? With 12 I know I am going to need a resistor other wise it would burn out the led.

It all sounds good to me, any one have any input?
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.