Tissue over front intake fan. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2007, 01:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Default Tissue over front intake fan.

Is it harmful in any way to put a single piece of tissue over the intake fan on the front of my case to minimize the amount of dust entering the system? 2-ply :P
__________________

JimJackson is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 01:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Tissue over front intake fan.

No, I do that to check and see if my fans are in their correct airflow.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 01:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default Re: Tissue over front intake fan.

they sell filters for case fans that are made to do this. there is no reason to use tissue. not to mention that it will prob get caught after a while.
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 01:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Tissue over front intake fan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
No, I do that to check and see if my fans are in their correct airflow.
LOL, I do the same.

I just open up my case once a month and clean out the case w/compressed air can.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 01:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Tissue over front intake fan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nu2duo View Post
LOL, I do the same.

I just open up my case once a month and clean out the case w/compressed air can.
Yeah, I use the compressed air can too. I need to go get some, since I used my last bottle on my VAIO and that's when I screwed it up. :snob:
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: Tissue over front intake fan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by King X13 View Post
they sell filters for case fans that are made to do this. there is no reason to use tissue. not to mention that it will prob get caught after a while.
Ok I see, so as long as I replace it every few days it shouldn't get caught and I should be fine right?
JimJackson is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Tissue over front intake fan.

If you're looking to buy some filters, here is a site which sells them for a great price.

All Fan Filters
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Tissue over front intake fan.

That's what's great about the TT Armor, I don't have a spec of dust because all intake areas are filtered.

I recomend not using a tissue, airflow is very minimal through one. Just buy filters, they're cheap, and won't rob you nearly as muich of airflow.
Alexinator is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 03:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: Tissue over front intake fan.

Alright, thanks everyone. :happy:
JimJackson is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 05:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Tissue over front intake fan.

i use the compressor in my truck shop to blow the dust out.
for one thing, it doesnt have any moisture in it like a can will if you tilt it the wrong way.
for another thing, its about mmmmm, 350psi. there aint no dirt hidin from that kind of pressure, lol...i dont have to wipe anything. dont get it too too close though, it would blow the hsf off and the cpu out of its socket lmao.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring front panel help brycatanz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-07-2007 05:34 PM
Guy pranks front desk at a hotel xD (Caution: lots of clussing) SYL\X/3K Off Topic Discussion 12 06-27-2007 10:11 AM
Front panel header noob question dwu182 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-23-2007 01:34 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.