tips for overclocking athlon 3800+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2007, 12:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default tips for overclocking athlon 3800+

ok, i have my athlon 3800+ socket 939 running at 2.640Ghz. I have the CPU clock higher than the CPU frequecny, is that O.K? Also I have the voltage at +.60V.

i have stock cooling but i have ordedered a zalman fan so i could hopefully push it a bit more. can someone give me tips because my target is current 2.8Ghz from 2.41Ghz
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: tips for overclocking athlon 3800+

i have a athlon64 +3500 and the most i could get (stable) was 2.6
of course my crappy budget memory is probably holding me back...
__________________

suske is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: tips for overclocking athlon 3800+

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
I have the CPU clock higher than the CPU frequecny
Uhhh... they're the same thing....

Anyway, what motherboard have you got? and what RAM have you got?

You might be able to set a memory divider, to increase your overclock.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: tips for overclocking athlon 3800+

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Uhhh... they're the same thing....

Anyway, what motherboard have you got? and what RAM have you got?

You might be able to set a memory divider, to increase your overclock.
really? lol i didnt know, my mobo is a Winfast 9150k8md MATX and I have 1GB of extremely rubbish Buffalo RAM and another GB of Samsung RAM, i have recently installed a zalman cpns9500 so im currently waiting for the thermal paste to cure, oh and what is a memory divider?
Nick is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 11:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: tips for overclocking athlon 3800+

memory divider is when you lock the memory to run at a certain speed so that when you change the fsb the memory speed doesnt change with it.

not exactly sure what that might be called in your bios. some call it different things. but it will probably be a ratio of fsb/cpu or something like that.

I bet your issue could very well be your memory . esp since you have two different brands that most likely have different timings etc.
networkgeek is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 11:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: tips for overclocking athlon 3800+

Quote:
Originally Posted by networkgeek View Post
memory divider is when you lock the memory to run at a certain speed so that when you change the fsb the memory speed doesnt change with it.
it doesn't lock the speed, but it runs at ratio lower than the HTT bus
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 11:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: tips for overclocking athlon 3800+

hare memory dividers hardware or software sorry for such a n00b question
Nick is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 11:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: tips for overclocking athlon 3800+

Memory dividers can be set in the motherboard bios, providing it has the option. It is normally a ratio, eg. for a HTT=400, RAM=300 would be a 4:3 HTT:RAM ratio.

Look through your motherboard bios options and the manual to see if you can find anything like it.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 11:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: tips for overclocking athlon 3800+

thanks ive never tried overclocking ram before but ill ive it a shot if my mobo allows me to
Nick is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 11:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: tips for overclocking athlon 3800+

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
thanks ive never tried overclocking ram before but ill ive it a shot if my mobo allows me to
Well its actually so you dont overclock your ram. The idea is that you can make you fsb, and in turn cpu, higher but keep you ram at around the same speed.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with O/C athlon 3800+ Nick Overclocking and Modding 0 06-15-2007 02:58 PM
Gigabyte m55SLI-S4 and Athlon X2 (displays garbage) clever_j New Systems | Building and Buying 14 05-26-2007 09:46 AM
WTB: Athlon XP 2600+ or 2800+ (266MHz FSB) Kubel Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-12-2007 03:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.