Timings need tighter! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2005, 07:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Timings need tighter!

Ok well it looks like im losing my big machine so i gotta stick w/ what i got now and just make it better. OK so heres what im running now
AMD athlonXP 2600+ @ 2.3ghz
Corsair VlaueRAM pc3200 at 400mhz
GeforceFX 5600ultra 256mb
SB LIVE suround sound
80gig maxtor 5400RPM
Shuttle AN35 ultra400 NF2 ultra
cd/rw blah blah
anyways im running the ram at 2.6V righ tnow w/ timings at 2.5-3-3-5
how can i get them any higher w/out my mobo going crazy? BTW the ram voltage only goes to 2.7 i believe and im running my CPU at 1.7V
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

Does nobody knwo anything? Do i have to wait for nubius?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

I gues nobody knows anythign abou ttimings or what?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 02:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default



Well you're pretty limited with only max 2.7v

If you could get it up at like 2.9v you might have a chance to tighten them up.

Other than that, the only way to do it would be to underclock the RAM to 333FSB that that CPU runs naturally but you say you have it at 2.3GHz so I'm assuming your board can lock the AGP/PCI bus and you've OC'd the FSB from 166 to 200?
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 02:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

yea it only goes to 2.7 but my agp/pci bus IS locked so im good there. and yes i have it at 2.3 so the ram is running 400mhz w/ fsb at 200mhz. its running pretty stable. but i just want higher timings. if you dont think i can get more out of it then ill jjst leave it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 02:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

of course you could always try going to 2.7v and seeing if they'll tighten, but chances are you'd need atleast 2.8

You could try like 2.5-3-2-7

or 2.5-2-3-7 see if those will work.

The cas latency and cycle time (the 2.5 and 7 in that scenario) effect stability, not so much bandwidth as the middle numbers do so it's ok to put the cycle time at 7 from 5, you won't lose performance.

And if course if the 2.5-3-2-7 works then try for 2.5-2-2-7 at 2.8v
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 02:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

i cant raise it to 2.8 it wont let me go any higher than 2.7 iono why. its just beng gay. but i got the timings at 2.5-3-3-5. i think if i raise the voltage i might get 2.5-2-2-5. that any good?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 05:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I know you can't go to 2.8 I'm saying that's atleast what you'd need IMO so in other words you really can't go any further.

.1 increase isn't that much and it generally takes the Samsung TCCD chips specifically to do those tight 2 timings, but mind you they are designed to not only do tight timings, but do it at low voltages too...so without you having those chips this is why I say you'd probably need atleast 2.8v which kind of puts you out of luck.

I'd try 2.5-3-2-7 at 2.7v and if that doesn't work I just don't think you'll be able to get your RAM any tighter, mind you even that wouldn't be a huge boost in performance or anything
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

Hey well i got it to 2-3-2-5 at 2.7 w/out heat spreaders w/ cpu at 2.3ghz. that any good?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

heatspreaders aren't necessarily a good thing anyway.. depends on how they stick, but anyway, it's better than stock and that's what counts right?

If it's not stable then try 2.5-3-2-7 because like I said you will see NO bandwidth difference going from cas latency 2 to 2.5
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.