Time to sell my OCZ! Question for you kids. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2007, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Time to sell my OCZ! Question for you kids.

So as some of you may know, I've had on **** of a time getting a stable overclock.

I can't even get my CPU past 2.66Ghz stable and my memory past 435ish. I know my CPU is more the capable of achieving 3.1 on air.

Sure I can underclock my memory and run it at 667 or something, and get a bit of a higher CPU overclock, but I'm not down for that at all, especially since I have a hard time hitting 3.0ghz that way.

I know my motherboard is more then capable of supporting higher CPU and memory overclocks, and my PSU is just fine and dandy.

So, before all the big games start hitting the PC, I've decided I'm going to sell my memory and finally buy some good overclocking memory.

I've heard people recommend G.Skill, Corsair XMS and Dominator, and of course Crucial Ballistix.

My question is this- Would I get a better overclock if I spend the extra $$ and got the Dominator memory over XMS?

Also, I'd like to stick to DDR2800, considering the price. But would I get that much better of overclocking room with DDR21066? Keep in mind I'm running air and not watercooling, so I'm not looking for some ubber 1337 extreme overclock.

Would this- Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

overclock just as well as - Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

and lastly, is this stuff really worth the extra $50 over the rest- Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 DOMINATOR 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Thanks a ton for your input, I'm hopeing B1g can read this and responde, he seems to know his ****.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Time to sell my OCZ! Question for you kids.

Dominator isnt worth the extra money. I have the xms2 memory and havent had any problems with it overclocking. What kind of OCZ memory do you have. I almost wonder if you just got a bad batch. I actually run 2gb of corsair and 2gb of ocz. Only because they both had seperate rebates that allowed me to save some money.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 07:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Time to sell my OCZ! Question for you kids.

the Plats if his sig is right... ^
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 07:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Time to sell my OCZ! Question for you kids.

don't you have to nearly always underclock the ram to get a good cpu clock?

when you underclock and raise the fsb, your ram speed will rise as well
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 07:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Time to sell my OCZ! Question for you kids.

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
don't you have to nearly always underclock the ram to get a good cpu clock?

when you underclock and raise the fsb, your ram speed will rise as well
thats what i thought he did... i guess his RAM aren't increasing it?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Time to sell my OCZ! Question for you kids.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
thats what i thought he did... i guess his RAM aren't increasing it?
they probably are, I guess he didn't realize that he had to underclock it since he said he wouldn't put it at 667... if you put it down, it'll reach up to 800 once you oc the pc 0_0
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 07:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Time to sell my OCZ! Question for you kids.

No, that's if you're overcocking and it's linked.

My point is, the OCZ is un-stable and can't overclock well at all.

They're OCZ Dual Platinum 2 gigs, with timings @ 5-5-5-15 i cant get the RAM that high at all.

Right now I can get my quad @ 2.8 stable, with my RAM @ 400mhz, which is the stock 800mhz effective.

If I can go any higher then 2.8, my rig becomes un stable, and i know it's not my mobo or cpu.

Also, idealy, i'd like to run a 1:1 divider, which is not possible with my memory, which is another big reason why i want to get new memory.

I think I'm ordering the crucial ballisitix. I just read that the newer batches of dominator arent as good as they used to be, unless you pay for the DDR21066, which i am not down for.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 08:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Time to sell my OCZ! Question for you kids.

well what kind of voltages are you using for your ram. and 5-5-5-15?? wow thats bad timings.... there's some cheap g.skill ram, thats 4-4-4-14 i think.. what i'm using.. though i have not tried overclocking with them yet... and won't have the chance to for a bit due to my crappy mobo..

what all have you tried in overclocking them.. and if you sell them.. lemme know a price :P
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 08:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Time to sell my OCZ! Question for you kids.

Well it's 4-4-4-15 stock, i went 5-5-5-15 when i was trying to OC my ram.

i'm running 2.1 for the ram, which is the highest thats recommended, and that should be high enough.

i don't know, i was thinking like $40 or so.


EDIT: It's not bad memory by any means though, it's fine for lower overclocks. It's just not what I want. PM me if you want it NOS. If i'm going to sell it to someone online I'd rather it be you, someone I've known of on a forum whose been around for awhile.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Time to sell my OCZ! Question for you kids.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
Well it's 4-4-4-15 stock, i went 5-5-5-15 when i was trying to OC my ram.

i'm running 2.1 for the ram, which is the highest thats recommended, and that should be high enough.

i don't know, i was thinking like $40 or so.


EDIT: It's not bad memory by any means though, it's fine for lower overclocks. It's just not what I want. PM me if you want it NOS. If i'm going to sell it to someone online I'd rather it be you, someone I've known of on a forum whose been around for awhile.
for sure, already sent you a pm! and with the fx, i don't needa raise my htt anyway.. just up the multi
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.