Tiding up wiring. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2006, 12:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default Tiding up wiring.

What is the best way to tidy up the wires in a case; no matter how hard I try my case is always messy... too many wires I guess.

I am using Zip ties and loomtubing.
__________________

__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Ive got the same problem as you , ive got so many wires its blocking off air circulation, I've no idea how to make it any neater though. I tried using the ties that lock when you pull them closed but I had no where to put the wires out of the way.
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 12:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default

ive tried attaching some wires to the holes in the corners of the fans.. that seems to tidy it up a little bit better.

I would take a photo of my wiring but at the moment I have heaps of loose wires since my current PSU cant handle the mods I have lol
__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 01:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default










heres what a lot of patience and determination got me

looks loads better when the uv lights are on and its all up and running
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 01:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default

thats freaken cool .... you have more wires than me yet is a **** of alot tidyer good job
__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 01:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default

maybe if i lower my hds, it should give me more room :-)
__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 03:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to turboFX55 Send a message via Yahoo to turboFX55
Default

dude check this out http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=84389 here is a thread to show you how to do wire sleeving and also if you feel up to it you can modify some of the wiring in your case to be shorter and you can also put new molex plugs on there.
turboFX55 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 03:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default

I will have to try that out :-)

I will order the tubing soon.
__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 03:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

A while ago, I dedicated about 5 hours(not including the special sleeving using some tubes which took about 2 hours), making my computer absolutely PERFECT. About 2 days after that, PSU died on my, the PSU I took 2 hours to sleeve has died, had to basically undo the 5 hours of work. Got pretty ****ed off, gave up on the whole thing (left my sidepanels opened) until yesterday. Just put the side panels back on and install the new PSU that i got from Lazerman.

Didn't take my time to make the cables nice, expirienced ALOT of overheating. Got about a 6 degrees increase in CPU idle temp (from around 32C to 38C)and the case temp increased by 2-3 degrees. My video card overheated, and it just went all crazy.

Cable management is really important, especially if you use fan cooling.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 03:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default

that would suck

before I do all my tidying up with my new PSU i will make sure it works good
__________________

__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.