Are these overclock temps alright? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2008, 03:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Are these overclock temps alright?

I just installed a new heatsink, and it's helping a bit, but i'm still getting up to 72C load (Prime95 Full load torture test). Is this a decent temperature for the processor to be running at? I really don't want to have to slow down my clocks any further. I'm only overclocking a duo core e7200 from 2.5ghz to 3.0ghz.
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 04:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Are these overclock temps alright?

Ummmmmmmm no

Whats your Vcore?

My q6600 from 2.4 to 3.2 is only topping 55C.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 04:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Are these overclock temps alright?

yes that is too hot, if those are accurate. what temp monitor are you using?

my 9450 loads at 55*C at 3.6-3.8.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 04:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Are these overclock temps alright?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Ummmmmmmm no

Whats your Vcore?

My q6600 from 2.4 to 3.2 is only topping 55C.
I have a q6600 too. I need to get my temps down so I wonder if I should go with what you have intead of the Contact Core one? I'll PM you
Chad711 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Are these overclock temps alright?

yea your voltages are way to high obviously. That, or you have the heatsink on wrong...or to much thermal paste
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 05:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Are these overclock temps alright?

Make sure you are using an accurate temp monitor like Real Temp. If those readings are still high then make sure your heatsink is mounted correctly and has themrla paste.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 07:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Are these overclock temps alright?

Either your voltage is too high, or that CPU fan is not mounted on right (or a bad report)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 09:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Re: Are these overclock temps alright?

Alright guys, I remounted the heatsink. I'm going to try overclocking again and will report temps in a bit. I don't know which way to orient the heatsink. I previously had it blowing in the hot air that was radiating from my graphics card. Turning it so that it now blows cold air from the front of the case was a real ***** on my intel mobo. I nearly broke several things on it before getting it to do what I wanted successfully. I think this is a much better setup, though. I have a fan on the front of the case blowing external air in towards the heatsink fan which is blowing that air in through the metal grating and towards the fan in the back of the case. I also made sure not to put on too much thermal paste. The heatsink guide said to use twice as much thermal paste as normal, and the first time I installed it I think I used four times the normal amount. This time I put a thick, single bead down the middle of the cores as recommended by the arctic silver guide. Wish me luck, guys.

Oh, and this is my heatsink:

Newegg.com - Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm "Core Contact Freezer" CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks
stainer711 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 09:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

Ok, now at a 3.04 ghz overclock from the standard 2.5 clock i'm at 50C load. Nice.... I think I'll stick with this clock. Every time I go higher than 3.04 my temps shoot up like 20 degrees and will refuse to go down. I haven't tried going up further with this new mounting, but I don't want to push my luck. :P Last mount I was at like 55C load at 3.04, and when I went to 3.2 my temps shot up to 85C for some reason.

****, I went up to 3.12 ghz and my load temps shot up 15 degrees. I think this mobo is just not good for overclocking. W/e, though, I'm happy at 3.04 ghz.
stainer711 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 10:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Are these overclock temps alright?

What is your motherboard? It shouldn't affect your temps. Do you have the fan oriented right? It should suck air in from the front and blow air out the back of the pc. I have that cooler and I get great temps. Much better than those. And I have taken her past 4ghz. Although it was a dual core.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclock Temps on 8400 GS mcovalt Overclocking and Modding 7 06-03-2008 08:54 PM
OverClock Checking Tool Osiris Overclocking and Modding 10 03-30-2008 10:01 AM
e6600 overclock temps ok? mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 2 12-12-2007 10:01 AM
First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!! mvpo.geo Overclocking and Modding 10 04-13-2007 08:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.