Are these compatible? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2005, 06:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default Are these compatible?

ok, so I've decided that i shall build my next computer. This will be my first time ever building a computer and i just want to make sure all the parts i chose will be compatible. This computer will be extremely for gaming, and no, i dont plan to overclock.

EDIT: MADE CHANGES TO MOTHERBOARD AND RAM.

Parts:

1.Motherboard: DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retailhttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136151 (Went with this because i want to get the drivers and extra cables and such...hence the reason im going for retail, and the specs look almost exactly the same as the Ultra-D, but if you just must, life or death, insist that the Ultra-D is better, please state it. Also, if thats the case, im going to need a little help knowing which cables to buy to connect to the HD, DVD drive, etc.)

2.Processor: AMD Athlon 64 FX55 ClawHammer/Hammer Integrated into Chip FSB 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103496

3.RAM: OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146890


4.Video Card: eVGA 256-P2-N377-AX Geforce 6800Ultra 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI-Express x16 Video Card - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130222

5.Sound Card: CREATIVE Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS 70SB035000000 8 (7.1) Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Card - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102162

6.Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA NCQ ST3160827AS 160GB 7200 RPM 8M Cache Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148034

7.DVD Burner: NEC Black 16X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 4X DVD+R DL 16X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2M Cache IDE DVD Burner - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152035

8.Floppy Disk: A Sony 3.5 incher.

9.Computer Case: Lian Li PC-65B Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811112040

10.Power Supply: OCZ OCZ520ADJ ATX 520W Power Supply 100-120V AC/200-240V AC TUV, UL, CSA, CE, CB, FCC - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104152

11.Monitor: HYUNDAI L90D+ Silver 19" 8ms LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 700:1 Built in Speakers 0.294mm Pixel Pitch - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824179014

12.Speakers: Logitech X-530 70 Watts 5.1 Speaker - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16836121118

13.Keyboard and Mouse: Eh, ill find an extra pair around my house.

14.OS: Windows XP


-Ok, so thats what i picked out. If all those parts are going to be compatible is my question. Also, since the Hard Drive and DVD Burner are OEM, do i have to buy the cables or will the motherboard and power supply include them?

-Also, if you have built a computer before, please feel free to state any problems (if any) you ran into, recommendations on setup, some great tips, or things to watch out for.

-One other question, if i order from newegg, am i going to have to pay tax on all the parts (i live in California).

-Thanks for reading my post and i thank everyone in advance, and ill probably thank you later too.
__________________

Splooge is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

i suggest you go with the new FX-55 san diego core.
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 07:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default

i dont think they have the retail version at Newegg, all i saw was the OEM for the san diego core
Splooge is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

then you can just get a zalman 7700Cu
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 10:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default

ok, ill take that into consideration, but my whole main thing was to try and figure out if my parts are all going to be compatible. Do they look that way, or does anyone notice something that wont work?
Splooge is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

everything looks good but i dont understand why you wouldnt want to overclock with that system.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 11:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

dont get that motherboard.... the A8N is extremly buggy and crappy.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 11:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

wouldn't it be better to go:

DFI lanparty ultra-d SLI (asus is crap board)
AMD64 venice 3200+
1gb twinMOS ram
2x eVGA 6800GT

either way, get the DFI board
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 11:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default

----check my orig. post, i made some adjustments---


never mind, i found the Ultra-D board. Its this one right?http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

I guess i'll go with that board since i actually decided to search these forums and alot of people did complain about the board i had in mind.

Also, i was reading the reviews on NewEgg and it seems that people were having problems using the Corsair XMS ram for the DFI board. Do you think the Corsair Ram i chose will work, or should i choose some different RAM? If so, what Ram do you all recommend

-The reason i dont plan to overclock though is because 1. i dont know how and 2. i realllyyyyy dont want to make a mistake and screw up the computer.
Splooge is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 10:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default

ok, so ive decided to get the processor in OEM and then just buy the zalman 7700 CU. My question is though will the Zalman 7700 fit on the Ultra-D DFI Lanparty board without touching the ram, video cards, etc?
__________________

Splooge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.