Are these brands any good?... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2005, 09:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

I cant believe someone suggested a dell over cyberpower, or in general. Go with Cyberpower. They built good computers. Ibuypower is ok too, but cyberpower is the best.

Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 01:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293

i bought 2 computers from cyberpower
oh sorry make that 3 lol

i actually researched it before

cyberpower actually came out cheaper than buying separate parts
at least for my configs

X-Blade Case
3 heat fans
AMD Ahtlon 64 3000+
ati radeon 9800 pro 128mb
ASUS K8N mobo
5.1 speakers ($30) but amazing sound
512MB ram
Logitech Keyboard
Optical Mouse
and some other stuff lol

im actually on this computer lol

it costed me $741 with free shipping

shipping normally cost $65.00

professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 10:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to Therock

Athlon 64 3000+
1.6 GHz
Cache Size: 512 KB
Memory Speed: PC2700 (333MHz)
Memory Technology: DDR-SDRAM
Installed Memory: 512 MB
Hard Drive Capacity: 200 GB
Drive Controllers: IDE (Ultra ATA/DMA)
DVD Write Speed: Not specified by manufacturer
DVD+RW Rewrite Speed: Not specified by manufacturer
Sound Support: 3D Audio
Video Chipset: S3 Graphics UniChrome
Video Bus: AGP (Version Unspecified)
Video Integration: Motherboard
Shared Video RAM (Max): 64 MB

Is this a good gaming computer??
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego @ 2.8GHz
DFI LanParty nf4 ultra-d
eVga 7800GT 256MB
1GB OCZ extreme series (2 x 512)
OCZ 550 Watt PSU
Samsung 200GB 7200rpm
Tsunami Dream Case
Therock is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 10:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
aj2003's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094

as with most prebuilt computers they put rubbish onboard graphics on it and it wont have a agp or ci-e slot to upgrade so ul be stuck with it unless u get a pci card which with be lacking performance cos of the slot. also that ram is slow and not enough of it imho. would be a waste of money
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 03:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
tajahem's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 410

Bought from cyberpower a few months ago. The cables where messy, the floppy drive didn't work, and one of the drive covers was forced (bent) into place. But then again I went for just about the cheapest you could get so I wasn't overly upset at the fact that I had to do some of the work myself.
tajahem is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 08:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 50

If I decide to make a system from parts from new egg what processor would guys recomend, same question for video cards... remeber nothing too expensive
Jul89 is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 11:40 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

amd 64 3000+
abit nforce3 mobo
a stick of 512mb
a 40gig hd
a 6600gt
cdr/rw/dvd combo drive and a floppy drive if u want
get a case

it'll be around $650 or so
diabloII is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 10:48 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293

i was researching for a computer that i wanted to buy for like a year
i end up buying from cyberpower

i was calculating prices like krazy
i did the math for newegg
and alot of other sites
for separate parts

cyberpower end up being the cheapest and the thing is that
certain parts you add from cyberpower, the parts are discounted
cuz its a reseller, they get wholesale

so my suggestion is on cyberpower

they are a bit messy at times, but overall, they are good

when you first get their computer, you can't turn it on yet, cuz of the HD power isn't plugged in

so thats about it

professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.