Thermaltake devloping affordable phase change unit - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2008, 11:03 PM   #21 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Thermaltake devloping affordable phase change unit

hahahah exactly^^^
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 11:19 PM   #22 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Thermaltake devloping affordable phase chaning unit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
i didnt make it very clear lol i just meant that i doubt it really makes any difference at all when its so low anyway.
I'm fairly certain that the lower the temps, the more stable it is and the more efficiently it'll run

for example, a Q6600 @ 4.0GHz with 60*C on load will run much better than a Q6600 @ 40*C on load

even if both are 8 days stable on Prime95, the one with cooler temps will just run more efficiently in some way or another
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 11:23 PM   #23 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Thermaltake devloping affordable phase change unit

should look out for the ocz phase change.. its more promising, and i forgot who reviewed it.. but said it matched performance that of a mach II and is only 400 dollars (upon release)...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:12 AM   #24 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Thermaltake devloping affordable phase change unit

Heard some bad things about it. Though at a large lan party a couple years back they had a demo unit, and me and my friend had a battle to see who could hold their thumb on the evap head the longest :P

In regards to the OCZ unit, it has been "coming out soon" for the past 3 years :P

Anywho I've heard some things about quality of the chassis and internal components being subpar and that most will be sold as B-Stock at a discounted price.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 05:33 AM   #25 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Thermaltake devloping affordable phase change unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
Heard some bad things about it. Though at a large lan party a couple years back they had a demo unit, and me and my friend had a battle to see who could hold their thumb on the evap head the longest :P

In regards to the OCZ unit, it has been "coming out soon" for the past 3 years :P

Anywho I've heard some things about quality of the chassis and internal components being subpar and that most will be sold as B-Stock at a discounted price.
ya i said more promising.. nothing about it lookin' pretty or being producted spectacularly!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:36 PM   #26 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Thermaltake devloping affordable phase change unit

yeah but if you aren't trying to set any world records...
0*C idle equals ~15-20*C on load, which is more than adequate for a kick arse overclock (and efficiency).
i dont think water will gove those temps, so if it is not a piece of garbage, it will be pretty handy and a great alternative for those of us thinking of going water.
although, i am with vdub....i work on my comp a lot and it may just get in my way.
i wonder if i could get my cpu to 4.5 with phase change....?
hmmmm.....
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:40 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Thermaltake devloping affordable phase change unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
yeah but if you aren't trying to set any world records...
0*C idle equals ~15-20*C on load, which is more than adequate for a kick arse overclock (and efficiency).
i dont think water will gove those temps, so if it is not a piece of garbage, it will be pretty handy and a great alternative for those of us thinking of going water.
although, i am with vdub....i work on my comp a lot and it may just get in my way.
i wonder if i could get my cpu to 4.5 with phase change....?
hmmmm.....
Your AMD? I think you'd be limited by your hardware more then temps.

I think I'm just going to wait until I can afford a good phase unit. I work on my rig often as well, but if i can pull a killer OC 24/7 with phase, I'll sacrifice ease of working on it.

Once I go DDR3 and 1600fsb I'll go phase.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:03 PM   #28 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Thermaltake devloping affordable phase change unit

perhaps.
the (recorded lol) record with dice is 4.0...
and he used 1.9v OUCH.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:43 PM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Thermaltake devloping affordable phase change unit

Why wait until you have ddr3 and 1600FSB. My quad runs at 1600FSB
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 03:27 PM   #30 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Thermaltake devloping affordable phase change unit

not natively like the qx9770! lol

i'm guessing thats what he was referring to
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vapor Phase Change... commandercup Overclocking and Modding 9 03-15-2008 12:28 AM
Selling my phase change unit for $500 jseber1982 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 20 11-05-2007 02:19 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.