Thermal Paste on GPU....which method? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2008, 12:26 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Thermal Paste on GPU....which method?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
its the feature on a digital camera which you focus on things when they are very close to the lens.

I dont think peterhuang saw that it wasnt ur picture, though.
ah yeah. the spelling threw me off..but yeah. i still use Macro when I need to.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 12:53 AM   #22 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Thermal Paste on GPU....which method?

hey, what about my question earlier?

is it a good idea to apply my MX-2 to my Crucial RAM for better cooling?
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 01:03 AM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Thermal Paste on GPU....which method?

I usually cover the whole chip with a thin layer.

The reason for doing the line/blob method on a CPU, is because it will spread out across the IHS and cover the core. But a GPU doesn't have a IHS, so that doesn't really work.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 12:29 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Thermal Paste on GPU....which method?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
hey, what about my question earlier?

is it a good idea to apply my MX-2 to my Crucial RAM for better cooling?
no. leave the ram alone.
mgcook is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 12:57 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Thermal Paste on GPU....which method?

Ram heatsinks are attached using thermal paste/glue type.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best technique for applying thermal paste? Mordred Overclocking and Modding 14 01-29-2008 01:39 PM
How do I put on thermal paste? aetherh4cker System Upgrades 2 01-06-2008 12:12 AM
Tuniq thermal paste questions... Raknor Overclocking and Modding 2 10-28-2007 09:34 PM
How often should I change the Thermal Paste? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-28-2007 06:20 AM
Removing Thermal Paste? phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 10 08-05-2007 03:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.