Thermal Paste - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2006, 11:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Default Thermal Paste

what methods do people use to apply thermal paste. ive heard that some use a bit of saran rap or a plastic bag on their finger to spread it out, and on the artic silver site it appears they reccomend just applying a little blob and letting the heatsink spread it out. Just curious what everyone else thinks.
__________________

insomniac41 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

i just did a li ttle blob in the middle of the cpu then spread it with the heatsink. I am still in "break in" so i cAnt say if it works very well btu i think that is how most people do it
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 03:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Let the heatsink pressure do the work... No use getting that stuff on your fingers. It's a booger to get off.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 03:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Just follow the instructions and put a little blob in the middle. The heatsink will spread it out.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 03:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

You first apply a blob the size of a grain of rice, then just put the heatsink on. This is exactly how Arctic Silver (the company) actually says how to do it, so it's probably the best way.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 04:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Make sure you rotate the heatsink both ways after you put it on (before you apply the clamps, of course) to ensure even speadature.

EDIT: Elbatrop1, that is an awesome sig.
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 08:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

What about an Intel? They have nearly 4 times the contact area of an AMD processor. How much does a person use then?
klein1jo is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 08:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

eh, I've never dealt with a socket t before, but I was pretty sure that they're about the same size as the AMD K8 processors...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 08:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by filter996
What about an Intel? They have nearly 4 times the contact area of an AMD processor. How much does a person use then?
What socket are you using?

478 is quite a bit smaller than an AMD A64 or Opteron. 775 is about the same size.

They both have heat spreader caps over the cores as well. Here is AS5's website showing how to apply it.

http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 09:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Put a blob the size of a grain of rice in the middle of the CPU and then put the heatsink on.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.