thermal paste - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2005, 10:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 142
Default thermal paste

right now I have Dynex silver thermal compound on my cpu heatsink, is this stuff any good. And if I buy artic silver will i see my temp go down, ive heard good things about artic silver.
__________________

jester6565 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 03:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Artic Silver almost always lowers the tempature.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 03:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Most likely it will, but it may not lower it anymore than what you have. Arctic silver is arctic silver because it has an insanely high content of silver in it to optimize heat transfer. I'm not sure about the stuff you are currently using, but if it has an equal amount of silver concentration in it, than getting arctic silver will most likely not lower your temps.

What some people overlook is how much of an impact application and proper burning in of the thermal compound has on performance. You have to use a very small amount (about the size of a grain of rice, 50% more than that for an AMD) directly on the center, clamp on your heatsink nice and level, and run some burn in programs. It takes about a week for the stuff to melt and settle into the best places it can go to conduct heat.
Him is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 142
Default

exactly how much do u put on, should i be able to see a solid white coat or should it be almost un noticeable PLEASE answer!
jester6565 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

About a rice grain size should cover enough.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 08:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

What Counter said, about the size of a grain of rice for Intel, and about a grain and a half for AMD. Put it dead center on the cpu, right over the core, and DO NOT SPREAD IT! Clamp on the HSF, and as it melts it will go where it is needed on it's own.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.