Thermal Paste - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2008, 03:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Thermal Paste

A. Could be bad contact and you used either too much or too little thermal paste. Take the heatsink off and check the contact patch. Remember you only need about a half pea sized blob.

B. 1 week = 168 hours so 1-2 weeks is correct.

C. You would likely see increased heat output upgrading to the faster cpu.

D. I doubt you were idling at 18C... Sounds like a bad temp sensor.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 04:29 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
PC_Caveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hawstrilia
Posts: 257
Default Re: Thermal Paste

16:26:27 02/24/08 3000.05 19 20
12:10:43 02/25/08 3000.03 21 22
09:43:13 02/26/08 3000.07 21 22

That was my core temp reading 3 days with my e6600 OC'ed prior to my install running 3 days straight.

01:24:20 05/12/08 3000.06 33 36

this is from today, and its been running for about 32 hours straight.

I did the same TP installation with the same amount. I am just confused cuz my e6600 was OC'ed to the same speed that the e6850 is at stock?
__________________

PC_Caveman is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 07:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Thermal Paste

Are you sure the fan is mounted correctly?

Try wobble it, if it moves then remount it.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 01:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
PC_Caveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hawstrilia
Posts: 257
Default Re: Thermal Paste

Its the Zalman 9700, so it can twist slightly due to how it mounts but im sure its on there the right way.
PC_Caveman is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 01:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Thermal Paste

all depends on teh Vid of the chip. Your new chip could have a higher vid than what you had your older chip set at. Also could be a bad temp sensor on the old chip.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 02:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
PC_Caveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hawstrilia
Posts: 257
Default Re: Thermal Paste

yea my temps are fine where they are at now, stable at 28-32 idle and 36-38 at load. I guess im just fighting a losing battle know trying to get them any lower.
__________________

PC_Caveman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best technique for applying thermal paste? Mordred Overclocking and Modding 14 01-29-2008 01:39 PM
How do I put on thermal paste? aetherh4cker System Upgrades 2 01-06-2008 12:12 AM
Tuniq thermal paste questions... Raknor Overclocking and Modding 2 10-28-2007 09:34 PM
How often should I change the Thermal Paste? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-28-2007 06:20 AM
Removing Thermal Paste? phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 10 08-05-2007 03:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.