Thermal Grease - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 02:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to MAD LARKIN
Default Thermal Grease

Im building my computer and on the site im buying my cpu/motherboard combo from it gives me an option of paying for them to add thermal grease to the cpu to help cool it better, is it worth paying $14?
__________________

MAD LARKIN is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

wow no way thats expensive thermal gel is like 2 dollars and just add a drop ur self .. my opinion anyways
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to MAD LARKIN
Default

oh ok thanks I kind of figured they were trying to scam me...
MAD LARKIN is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

make sure you get artic silver 6, thats the best stuff out, it's around 7 bucks on newegg.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

I think the option they are adding is for a tube of themal grease... an application of themal grease shouldn't cost more than a buck or two.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 05:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

givbe me a link to this magically AS6
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 05:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by powerslave12
make sure you get artic silver 6, thats the best stuff out, it's around 7 bucks on newegg.
5

For a custom PX, the AS5 is worth 6$ and the labor is worth the rest

Yeah do this if you plan to overclock, and dont if you dont plan on it
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.