Thermal Gel - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2005, 05:47 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Assuming that you put a big enough dot....and the rotation...i dunno.
Mr. Wayniac does have a good quesiton.
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 06:45 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Technically they want it spread on the CPU by hand so that the microscopic valleys do have a chance to get filled with the paste.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 11:11 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Thanks everybody... you've definitely answered my questions.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:05 PM   #24 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Thermal compound is to fit in those little grooves and stuff, where there is space between the HSF and the CPU. When you clamp the HSF on, and there is a clump of compound, it is going to spread where it is needed. When it cannot fit in one place because there is no room for it, it is going to spread elsewhere. To where it is needed. It's like scratching a cat. You scratch it in one place, and let the cat move it's head around and get the spots that the cat wants scratched. You attach the HSF, and let the compound move to where it is needed, and physics will find the best place for it.

Wayniac, i'm glad we answered your questions. I remember when I asked this same question (when I first joined) it took a long time before I got a straight answer.

You're welcome.
Him is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:12 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Wow... very informative... thank you. One more thing. When I clean off the old thermal gel from before, I use rubbing alcohol like somebody said earlier, right? Afterwards, should I lightly wipe it down with something, or just put the new gel on with a faint hint of the rubbing alcohol still there?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:15 PM   #26 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Well, rubbing alcohol will evaporate on it's own. So clean it off, use alcohol, and then wipe up the alcohol. Just dab it with toilet paper or something, let the big puddles of it soak up, and let the rest evaporate on it's own. Get Isopropyl with a very high alcohol content, like 98%.
Him is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:47 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Ah, gotcha. Wouldn't toilet paper leave particles there though... I guess your point is still the same either way though: dab up what I can and let the rest evaporate before applying the new thermal gel.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:52 PM   #28 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

It's not like it's a hard drive or a clean room or anti static place, it's just the exterior of a cpu. Minute particles dont matter, I dont even think large sections of toilet papr would matter. But yeah, all I'm saying is how to get the alcohol off of there. You dont need to worry about small particles, thats just being overly worried. No need to be. Sopmetimes people just make things more complicated than they need to be.

BTW, just out of curiousity, what kind of setup do you have going on?
Him is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:59 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Ah yes...

NVIDIA nForce 3 Ultra Chipset Based K8N Neo2 mobo
AMD Athlon 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.6 GHz
NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT @ 400/1100
1 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor

Am I forgetting anything?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:01 PM   #30 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Nah, thats a pretty killer rig you got there. What core is the AMD? Venice, newcastle, clawhammer, etc...
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.