there went windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2005, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 152
Default there went windows

i OCed my amd 1.8 2800 to 2.3ghz and then it crashed and suddenly im missing my whole windows system folder. time for a new install. has this happened to anybody else? also im a bit confused on how to lock my agp speed. i cant find the setting in my bios to do this. i have the asus k8v-x. also is this a decent mother board to OC with?
__________________

joshshift is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 152
Default

i tried to reinstall windows but im stopped by a black, blank screen after a reformat. i could still get into my bios so i checked the boot order and changed it so that it booted from cd first but still no results. any ideas???? im a screwed? did i kill something? if i did how likely is it that it is my harddrive?
__________________

joshshift is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Joshshift, this has happen to me many times. Thats the problem with unexperienced OC. They think burning hardware is the only possible negitive result. But windows corruption is the most common, this only takes a few seconds. I dont know why you OC and you have no clue how to lock your AGP ratio. Go into your BIO's and completely clear each HDD. For OC DFI is the best choice. Always get DFI, MSI, and Abit boards.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 152
Default

so how can i lock my agp? all i did was increase my FSB speed but while doing so am i correct to assume that it increased my agp speed as well? if so then is it possible that i fried my video card?
joshshift is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 152
Default

i understood that windows might get corrupted. and i dont care. im aware of the risks of OC or i wouldnt even try it. please dont talk down to me. it reveals how arrogant you are.
joshshift is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 07:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 152
Default

i got it working.
joshshift is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 08:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

cool what did u do...like how did u get it working?
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.