Is there a way of testing CPU speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2005, 12:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default Is there a way of testing CPU speed

Hi just built a new pc spec below

MOBO: ASRock P4i65GV (chipset 865GV)
CPU : Pentium 4 3.2ghz
Ram : Kingston 256mb
HDD : Maxtor 160gb

Its for my Dad who previously had a Pentium 4 1.7ghz and i am a little disapointed with its performance obviously its better than what he had before but not half as quick as i thought it would be. I have Gigabyte MOBO with same chipset and a Pentium 4 2.7ghz and i would say its probably not as quick as mine.

Is there a utility where i can check that everything is in order and running propoerly and does anyone have any ideas of how too check of quick/slow a system is running,

would timing a boot up be any good?



__________________

fu77ier is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 02:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Try this, although there are tons more out there on the internet.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 02:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
Default

i would add another 256 mb ram that should spped it up more noticably i think.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y180/Fitzfan/futureresized.jpg\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\">
fitzfan is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 04:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I would go to google or yahoo and type CPU Z. This will tell you everything about your system.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 05:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

CPU-Z tells you info about your system bu SiSoftware Sandra will actually bench your computer with two different CPU benching tests, memory benching, even HD benching I believe.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks for that i shall check them out looks like some good info which should suffice !
fu77ier is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Some other CPU benchmarking programs are Business Winstone/ Winbench and PCMark from here:

http://www.futuremark.com/products/pcmark04/

http://www.veritest.com/benchmarks/b...ne/default.asp

http://www.veritest.com/benchmarks/winbench/default.asp
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 11:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

definatly more RAM, you would notice the difference
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 04:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default

Im looking for some more memory now, will see if that helps .

When installing second memory stick does it have to be exactly the same model or is there like a second model ie stickA and then stickB

My current memory is Kingston KHX3500/512

I cant seem to find this model exactly i have found one with an A after like this

KHX3500A/512

This is my system, i have found memory for my Dads pc an exact match.
__________________

fu77ier is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.