Is there anything to overclock gpu... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2007, 11:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Is there anything to overclock gpu...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
I wish atitool worked on vista heh. i tried rivatuner and get nothin but headaches trying to stabilize it. so i quit trying.
ATiTool does work...its just a b*tch. I have to reinstall it about every 3rd time I reboot my computer. It's something with the driver. But it does work correctly when it starts up right.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 11:48 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Is there anything to overclock gpu...

Only reason this came up is that i cant duplicate my 3dmark06 score. I actually got a 4.1ghz overclock on the quad and still only managed a sub 18k score. I think the nvidia drivers are the cause.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: Is there anything to overclock gpu...

^^ If im not mistaked me and Drizzt5 have oc'd his 8500gt's and they both were oc'd.. used atitool.. not sure which version.... but yeah, They both were oc'd for a lil bit, Then he got his 8800GT! and the second should be on its way!
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Is there anything to overclock gpu...

I have 7800 gt's and oc'ing them both works... I have no idea about 8 series cards.

In atitool, are you talking about 2d or 3d settings? Because if you're oc'ing just 3d, you're not going to notice higher clock rates unless you actually are running something 3d. The only reason I say this is because when I was using I think riva tuner I was getting ****ed thinking it wasn't saving my oc settings when I'd check them in everest. But it's just that I wasn't engaging the 3d clock settings.

(this is all in xp by the way)


Don't use rivatuner, it's too finicky. Use atitool.
__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Is there anything to overclock gpu...

i disagree, i think rivatuner is much more friendly than ATI tool. i guess its just a personal preferrence, though.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is there anything to overclock gpu...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
i disagree, i think rivatuner is much more friendly than ATI tool. i guess its just a personal preferreence, though.
yeah I don't like AtiTool either. I actually like atitraytools the most because it's so easy to change a TON of settings and do so very quickly....but I don't think it works for nvidia cards.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Is there anything to overclock gpu...

I like it because of the ways it finds your max settings. It's not perfect, with some fine tuning it is very helpful.
__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 01:22 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Is there anything to overclock gpu...

I think im just going to switch to Vista 64 and say the heck with it. Do another clean boot on xp and not touch anything, just use it for benching

edit: i already have vista 64 installed on another disk, just been too lazy to set it up how i want. Also that sli issue.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU Physics Dead for Now, Says AMD’s Developer Relations Chief. Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 0 11-20-2007 11:58 PM
Help choosing for next upgrade, GPU or CPU? ki9090 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 10-17-2007 06:22 AM
Safe overclock speed? Haoming Overclocking and Modding 6 08-01-2007 12:20 AM
ATi x1950xt overclock....? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-14-2007 03:13 PM
First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!! mvpo.geo Overclocking and Modding 10 04-13-2007 08:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.