Theorical Overclock? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2005, 02:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Default Theorical Overclock?

Hey guys, I have a nice PC and was wondering how far is it possible to overclock it? I've tried, but I'm not sure I doing it right, I'm new to o/c'ing

My PC:
3500+ 939
Thermaltake Damier V case.
Thermaltake Silent Tower Cooling with heatpipes
Extreme giant cooler
Cooler master PSU
2Gigs in Corsair Ram XMS
Western digital Raptor 74Gb
Maxtor Diamondmax10 300Gb
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
and about 5 other fans that came with the case.
and an MSI mobo
An Asus X800proVIVO modded to XT PE

Anyway, that's the relevant stuff, also got a DVD DL burner 16X and a card reader.
__________________

robertotrevino is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Theoretical*

Winchester or Newcastle core?

I read a review of both hitting 2.7GHz on air, although the newcastle barely got there and the winchester got closer to 8.

I'd say 2.5GHz should be obtainable for you
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Newcastle... but how would I go about doing it? Sorry, but I'm new to this... Do I up the voltage? or do I crank up the FSB?
robertotrevino is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 03:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Read the sticky at the top of these forum. "Basics of overclocking"
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Theroretically 3.3ghz
Realisticly 2.5 \ 2.6
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 08:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

I'd say you'll hit a wall at 2.5 unless you REALLY know what your doing. After a while your computer will just keep re-starting...
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 03:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Hey Gecko, you have roughly the same specs as me, how far did you push it?
robertotrevino is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

why dont you try it for yourself and tell us how you do?
phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Overclock it until it burns....buy a new one...then don't go so far


That's a motto at another forum that mainly has OC'ing info lol
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

If i had the money i would do that :-p
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.