thanks for the replies - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2004, 09:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default thanks for the replies

I am currently living in Australia and computer prices are really high here! I think I can get a different brand of RAM and better HDDs but the graphics cards cost like $800-900 Australian. $AUS1=US 75c

BTW I read many reviews and most people say that ATI Radeon is better than NVIDIA cards while AMD is better than Intel. But I get different opinions from different people, a lot of people told me to get AMD but I have always used Intel Pentiums so I am still cautious about making the change. What do you guys think about AMD vs Intel?
__________________

lge.com.au is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

God damn! That's a lot of money man! Anyways, did you check any like companies that deliever worldwide? Maybe newegg, etc.?
__________________

Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 09:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default

oops sorry mods can you please delete this thread, I accidently pressed the wrong buttons, i am still learning to get used to the forum layout.
lge.com.au is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

New egg dosent support international orders.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 11:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: thanks for the replies

Quote:
Originally posted by lge.com.au
I am currently living in Australia and computer prices are really high here! I think I can get a different brand of RAM and better HDDs but the graphics cards cost like $800-900 Australian. $AUS1=US 75c

BTW I read many reviews and most people say that ATI Radeon is better than NVIDIA cards while AMD is better than Intel. But I get different opinions from different people, a lot of people told me to get AMD but I have always used Intel Pentiums so I am still cautious about making the change. What do you guys think about AMD vs Intel?
ATI's 9000 series was really good against Nvidia's 5000 series, but lately Nvidia has taken the lead with its 6000 series
you can find a 6600 GT for less than $400 and they are really good cards, a lot better than ATI's 9000 series, and often better than ATI's X800 Pro (their second best card at $700)

AMD CPU's have lower clock speeds than Intel's but still manage to perform better in gaming; they can process more instructions per clock cycle than an Intel CPU, so a lower frequency AMD CPU will match or beat an Intel CPU

I would suggest you get an Athlon 64 in socket 939, starting at 3000+ which is under $200 per CPU, to the FX-55 which is way too expensive so don't go there (over $1200)
or there is the medicore 3500+ which is around about $390 per CPU

the Pentium 4's cannot process every 32-bit instruction there is, however the Sempron's can (AMD's budget CPU)
the Athlon 64-s can process every 32-bit instruction, plus they can process 64-bit instructions, and when they do their performance should theoretically double

although currently Intel CPU's perform better when it comes to multimedia applications, like number crunching, decoding, so if that's all you're doing then a Pentium 4 in socket 775 is a good CPU to get
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 11:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

isnt that the EE? thats really exspensive still right?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-09-2004, 12:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

no it's not the EE, it's the 6600 GT
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 04:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lge.com.au
oops sorry mods can you please delete this thread, I accidently pressed the wrong buttons, i am still learning to get used to the forum layout.
i would have honored that request but there is some good info for once instead of the "mine is better" bull crap that comes with questions of what people think is better

--jak
jaksback is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 04:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

I think everyone here will without a doubt say AMD for pure gaming.. if you're into multimedia, then it's a different story
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.