thanks - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2008, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default thanks

i would like to say a really big thanks to everyone that pretty much forced me to OC my CPU and learn how to OC, it has drastically improved my performance, overclocking is so easy it can be done by anyone any age, as proved since im only 14 xD.

i read some were about VID's being the default voltage of what the CPU runs at and higher the VID the worse OC'er it is, is this correct and if so is this the reason why i can only get 3.2 with my e2180 with 1.5v?
__________________

lukas is offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 04:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: thanks

1.5v... thats a bit drastic... you mind showing a Core Temp Screenshot?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default Re: thanks

well, you want CPU-Z too? or just coretemp, my temps stay around 60 under prime 95 http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/2503/piccccccge1.jpg
lukas is offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: thanks

you VID is a little high even thought your temps are very good. Try to lower it slightly to about 1.45V, it will be much safer, and you CPU can keep that clock normally with less voltage thn what u have given it.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: thanks

Wow you're vid is pretty bad, its higher than most Quads here at T.F....

But your temps are good... Unfortunately it is your chip... idk if that Core Voltage is safe for a Dual-Core, drop it....... (ask somebody else here.. I've only owned a e4300 before and I stopped at 3.0ghz)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 04:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default

well, ive been running it for around 1month, stable no crashes, cod4 etc, and someone on these forums said the limit is around 1.5 for me, you think i should lower the clocks? and if i dont whats the most damage that can be caused?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Viksta View Post
you VID is a little high even thought your temps are very good. Try to lower it slightly to about 1.45V, it will be much safer, and you CPU can keep that clock normally with less voltage thn what u have given it.
well if i remember correctly, i ran prime95 wen i had a vcore of around 1.48 and it failed within 2 hours at 3ghz, so i dont think that would work
lukas is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 10:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: thanks

I ran 1.475 on my e2180 for awhile. Decided to drop it down to stock and run 2.9 because my chip sucked. Wouldn't stay stable for the life of it. Those chips can take alot though.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 10:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: thanks

i think i had my e2180 running 3.0ghz with 1.38v or something around that

maybe the chip i had was just a champ or something
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 01:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: thanks

I had it 2.9 on stock vcore of 1.325, and then it decided to fall flat on it's face no matter what I did. I know I wasn't the only one that had this problem either.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 02:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: thanks

ya.. after 3ghz... it didnt really wanna go any further.. no matter what voltage i put through it
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.