Temps okay? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2007, 12:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Temps okay?

If it restarts, then chances are, you need more power to the CPU, to overclock. Bump up the VCore just one notch.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 12:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: Temps okay?

Is that safe?
__________________

__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 12:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Temps okay?

You haven't touched the voltage right? And the temperatures are OK. Just bump up the voltage, with the lowest increment possible. It's safe, as long as the temperatures allow, and you don't pump like 1.6+ into the CPU.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 01:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: Temps okay?

No such luck, I moved the voltage from 'Startup' to +0.012v and set the frequency to 245, booted up and the computer said I was back to 1.9 (oced back to 2.28, at 240 btw)

Its no big deal. I'll live. I was worried though, it tells me my temp when I boot up, and it said 45C. That seems high.
__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 01:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Temps okay?

Most new motherboards will auto reset the bios if they fail to post. I was playing around with mine last night and anytime i went too high on the clock speed it would reset itself to "disabled" so at least i didnt lose my overclock speeds it would just turn the overclock off.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 02:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: Temps okay?

I see.

Well i was toying around on google, and I found some forum with a post about the mobo I had, They said not to trust the bios temps untill a new bios comes out.
__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 03:19 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Temps okay?

As long as magic blue smoke doesnt try to escape the case, you should be ok.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 04:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Temps okay?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinteenNinetySeven View Post
No such luck, I moved the voltage from 'Startup' to +0.012v and set the frequency to 245, booted up and the computer said I was back to 1.9 (oced back to 2.28, at 240 btw)

Its no big deal. I'll live. I was worried though, it tells me my temp when I boot up, and it said 45C. That seems high.
ram ram ram ram ram. i should make an amd/ram overclocking post and see if it gets stickied...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 04:43 PM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Temps okay?

Yea, you should. You're like an AMD overclocking guru.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 04:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Temps okay?



i know...this is my high school photo...
lmao
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need urgent help...temps keep rising krazyq Overclocking and Modding 19 07-15-2007 08:05 PM
8800GTS temps??? mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 07-12-2007 01:30 AM
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM
E6600 Idle temps STATus h2O Overclocking and Modding 3 04-02-2007 09:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.