Temperatures with watercooler - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2009, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default Temperatures with watercooler

Hi all. i just bought a watercooler of thermaltake...it is a 760is.

my case is an akasa infiniti

my processor is a phenom II 940.

my temperatures are on idle around 40C running it 3.0Ghz

when i raise it to 3.6Ghz 240 X 15 and Vcore at 1.5 ..it goes to 48 in adle.. i think it is to much since iam using watercooler.. and artic silver 5..

well i have to say that i live in brazil and here ambient temperaures are like 30-35C

theres any way to make it work a bit more colder?

or it is just normal?

looks like this watercooler isnot so good as i thought...

thanks all
__________________

nino_ca is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Temperatures with watercooler

what are your load temps?

you can get better idle temps on air than those you have given us.

1.5v seems like alot for 3.6GHz
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Temperatures with watercooler

True but look at his ambient temps. If it is 35C and he is running at 48C that is only a delta of 13C.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 08:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Temperatures with watercooler

Set your Voltage to 1.42... That's where mine is and I'm running the same clock.. Then check your temps. Higher voltage makes for higher temps.

Where is your radiator placed? That does make a difference.. It should be in as much open air as possible, not tucked in a corner somewhere so the rad fans aren't sucking back in expelled air.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 08:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Temperatures with watercooler

95F in your house?
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 10:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Temperatures with watercooler

IMO that is actualy half decent, I have a Athlon 6000+ with water cooling and a 3x120mm rad, it idles around 40C, but loads at 45C, water cooling won't help idle temps much, but it does help keep load temps far lower than air cooling.


Also do you have all the air out of the system?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 11:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Temperatures with watercooler

Thermaltake watercooling systems are garbage. I would return it and get a nice air cooler. I have heard a lot of problems with people's leaking. I don't know what your options are in Brazil though so maybe you can't really get a nice air cooler
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 12:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Temperatures with watercooler

^ I know Thermaltake isn't the BEST, and that's a pretty broad generalization.... My buddy's had his Thermaltake LCS in his x2 4200 since 'Nam.. No problems with his.. It serves it's purpose for the money spent.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 10:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: Temperatures with watercooler

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinscher View Post
Thermaltake watercooling systems are garbage. I would return it and get a nice air cooler. I have heard a lot of problems with people's leaking. I don't know what your options are in Brazil though so maybe you can't really get a nice air cooler
i can get any product i want in brazil, i just need to import hehe.

but ye i realized that the place of radiator make a big diference, and i was thinking " if it were out of case would help much more"

i have an asus royal knights air cooler, i just changed for this watercooler.

like someone said, i saw that watercooler really helps when u are on load..temperatures do not go so high like it did with aircooler, will try to replace the radiator to see it can get more fresh air .
nino_ca is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Temperatures with watercooler

A custom Water Cooling loop will outperform a Thermaltake setup consistently.

Petra's Tech Shop has a nice selection.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 CPU Temperatures... 2 cores 1 CPU? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 9 03-13-2008 01:05 PM
Ambient Temperatures... commandercup Overclocking and Modding 3 01-04-2008 04:20 AM
Temperatures... too low? Eagleboy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 10-14-2007 04:02 AM
Safe Temperatures ReikokuKo Overclocking and Modding 3 10-05-2007 06:01 PM
x1950xt temperatures aaronkupen Overclocking and Modding 5 06-23-2007 09:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.