Temperatures. Should I be worried? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2006, 09:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default Temperatures. Should I be worried?

I just built my computer a few days ago and temps read (from 2 sources) that my cpu is idleing at 52-53 C, I even have a Zalman 9500. Shouldnt these temps be lower. How hot is too hot?

Specs.

Artic Silver 5
e6400 Overclocked (2.14 ---> 3.00 ghz)
Zalman 9500


I was thinking of getting a 92 mm fan to blow air right at the Zalman on the side panel of my case. Thanks.
__________________

Da11en47 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yea that temp for idling is a bit high especially when you have a zalman. Maybe it's not seated right or the sensor is inaccurate. What are you using to monitor temps?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 10:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default

Well I went through the BIOS and also used the software that came with my ASUS motherboard.
__________________
i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
16 MB RAM
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 10:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

it could also be seated too tightly, i dotn knwo how that thign blots on though, it defiantly shoudlnt even be up that high on load, though i would reapply that right away, if your not the most technical person dont worry about it, but keep it on your todo list, when it hits like 58-61 then you shut it down like asap
and go to as5's site and follow those direction of application if you havent already look at it

me personally, i never knew why those heatsinks that didnt have direct cooling did so well, all it is, is pipes, no direct blades. though it is all copper, so it transfers very well
__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 10:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default

Yeah maybe Its too tight it spread out the AR5. I never thought of that. Ill check it out. its idleing at 54 right now...DAMMIT

Ok I went to the AR5 website and it talks about the "break in" period, up to 200 hours. Also that the temps can drop 2-5 C during or after that period. Can someone confirm this from experience.
__________________
i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
16 MB RAM
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 10:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default

Ok they want me to make a straight line all the way down with the AR5, rather than a dot. I think ill re-apply tommorow, when I have some time.
__________________
i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
16 MB RAM
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 11:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Default

yes there is a break in period. i experienced the same thing, but now mine idels at 33 C
Reaver is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 10:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to specialblend218
Default

It can't be to tight. As pressure increases the thermal resistance decreases. The thermal paste is only there to fill in the pits of the metal on the chip and heatsink, it does not increase cooling. You want to use as little as possible. I dab some in the middle then spread out with a razor blade till I have a nice even thin layer.

Good Luck!!!
__________________
www.revelationlan.com Lan Gaming in Southern California!!!
specialblend218 is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 10:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ahhhhh specialblend it's good to have someone round here who thinks the same as me .

look at specialblend's post and pretend it's mine. it says exactly what mine was going to
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 01:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

ive been on other extrememe cooling forums, and many have had problems when their waterblocks are too tight, just wondered since that 9500 is pretty heavy like a waterblcok it might be too tight, but it does have to be pretty tight, like to the point where it twists the motherboard. i guess that would help the as5 but if the mobo was twisted it would only make half contact to the cpu if you get what im sayin
__________________

__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.