Temperatures - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2004, 02:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default Temperatures

What are the ok temps to have ur comp running in?
__________________

__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 02:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

all depends on what cpu and vid card you are using and if you are referring to when its idle or under load.

my cpu runs under normal load at 35c, case temp at 23c.....under HEAVY load it maxes out at 49c/28c. I have an oc'd p4 2.4. my vid card never exceeds 40c which is a 9600xt.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 02:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Gosh nice tempertures Jakes.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You really need to give us your specs, case, motherboard, kind of heatsink if it's aftermarket, CPU stuff like that, every system is different. My 2400+ XP with it's stock CPU and sides off the computer with no fans ran at 64C idle but that's way too hot and I believe that chip has a tendency to burn hot. Generally most AMD's are in the 40's and into the 50's under full load when it's stock cooling and not too much effort into cooling has been placed.

I don't know my graphics cards temps because they started putting in the probes at 5700 Ultra and I have just the 5700, but I know the newer cards are hitting 80C and that's like the norm temp.
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 07:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120
Default

wat do u mean u dont know ur graphics card temp!!!!!! I also have a fx5700 non ultra 256mb and when i go into advanced tab on properties, u know to get to the nvidia menu it shows temp readings, mine by the way is at 35 celcius!!!
ardy89 is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ardy89
wat do u mean u dont know ur graphics card temp!!!!!! I also have a fx5700 non ultra 256mb and when i go into advanced tab on properties, u know to get to the nvidia menu it shows temp readings, mine by the way is at 35 celcius!!!
Not all video cards have the option in windows to see the temp of the card. I dont think my 9800 pro has that option.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 10:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/peter.e...istory_big.gif
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 10:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Whats that pic for major?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 10:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

To check if your temps are OK.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 10:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Oh, my bad it was kinda small until i enlarged it.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.