Temperature question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2007, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 46
Default Temperature question

I just built my new computer and I want to make sure my temperatures are alright. I'm running a Core 2 Duo E6750 with Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7 in a Cooler Master Centurion 534 case. I ran coretemp and my readings when idle are:

Tjunction: 85C
Core #0 - 30C
Core #1 - 28C

Are these readings normal? I have the case open right now, so assume a few degrees higher when everything is closed up. Also, I have no idea what Tjunction is, could someone shed some light on that?

blyver is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 06:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re: Temperature question


You're using the CoreTemp program.

'Tjunction' is the maximum tolerable temperature at the junction between the CPU die (the square / rectangular piece of silicon where the Intergrated Circuit is) and the Printed Circuit Board. It's a defined value and not a temperature reading (not a variable value). It's best to ignore this.

The CPU Core temperatures are of your main concern. They are very good readings.


|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 03:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Temperature question

Your Core temps are fine. Actually it's pretty good, and I think you should close up your case unless you're using a fan you got from Home Depot or something and it's cooling your system, then I guess that's fine.
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 03:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 46
Default Re: Temperature question

Awesome, thanks for your responses. Well I guess I'll go ahead and try to overclock then
blyver is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question using RadioButton in VB.Net punkin Programming 4 07-08-2007 10:20 PM
Mobo Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-28-2007 10:45 PM
Temperature detection software? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-19-2007 06:59 PM
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 12:18 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 12:14 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.